This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Monday 20 January, 2020

New boy Deegan makes historic 'mark' as Dubs start with a win

Mossy Quinn was the star of the show.

Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO


Dublin 3-13

Dubs Stars 4-9

THE LITTLE-KNOWN Ryan Deegan etched his named in Gaelic football history with the first official ‘mark’ as Dublin begun 2017 in typical winning fashion.

The Thomas Davis man claimed a mark in the 23rd minute of the annual Dubs Stars challenge at Parnell Park, the first since the new rule came into full effect from January 1.

Exactly three months on from their All-Ireland final win over Mayo it was an entirely new-look Dublin that lined out.

Shane Clayton, Colm Basquel and Robbie McDaid, all from Ballyboden St Enda’s, were the only three from last summer’s Championship panel to make the team.

Conor McHugh has played for Dublin before and gave a timely reminder of his quality to boss Jim Gavin with 2-4 overall and the match winning goal.

The 2014 All-Ireland U-21 final hero was complimented in Dublin’s greenhorn attack by Paul Hudson and Killian O’Gara who weighed in with 1-5 between them.

Gavin gave his back-to-back All-Ireland winning stars the day off and the likes of All-Star midfielder Brian Fenton was an interested spectator in the main stand.

Tomas Quinn Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Dublin are due to jet away on their team holiday tomorrow ahead of their O’Byrne Cup campaign. Tomas Quinn, the evergreen former Dublin attacker, was the star of the show again with 3-5 overall though it still couldn’t prevent a defeat for the Dubs Stars.

Dublin led 2-7 to 1-2 at half-time thanks to 11th and 22nd minute goals from O’Gara and McHugh. Quinn snatched an early goal from a quick free and added two more after the break while Darren Gavin was also on the mark.

That left the Dubs Stars narrowly ahead before McHugh struck for the 59th minute goal that earned victory for Dublin.

Scorers for Dublin: Conor McHugh 2-4, Paul Hudson 0-4 (0-2f), Killian O’Gara 1-1, Niall Walsh 0-3, Ciaran Reddin 0-1.

Scorers for Dubs Stars: Tomas Quinn 3-5 (1-3f), Darren Gavin 1-0, Niall Coakley 0-3 (0-2f), Gerry Seaver 0-1.


1. Evan Comerford

15. Eoghan O’Brien

3. Shane Clayton

21. Ross McGowan


22. Niall Scully

11. Robbie McDaid

13. Conor Mullally


6. Ryan Deegan

18. Ciaran Reddin


19. Gary Sweeney

2. Colm Basquel

20. Niall Walsh


9. Paul Hudson

17. Killian O’Gara

12. Conor McHugh



4. Shane Cunningham for Basquel (32)

8. Ross Hazely for McDaid (32)

5. Michael Deegan for O’Gara (35)

7. Robbie Gaughan for Deegan (40)

10. Gavin Ivory for Scully (40)

14. Sean Newcombe for Hudson (44)

16. John Brian Carthy for Comerford (45)



1. Morven Connolly


2. Craig Wilson

3. Graham Hannigan

4. Tom Shiels


5. Ross O’Brien

6. Maitias MacDonncha

7. Brian Howard


8. Darren Gavin

9. Shane Boland


10. Tom Lahiff

11. Gerry Seaver

12. Paddy Small


13. Stephen Smith

14. Niall Coakley

15. Tomas Quinn



20. Gavin Carruth for Gavin (21)

16. Sean Blanchfield for Connolly (40)

19. Eanna O’Toole for Smith (42)

Gavin for Boland (43)

17. Daire Kerr for Seaver (44)

Boland for Coakley (55)

Seaver for Carruth (55)


Referee: Darragh Sheppard (Lusk)

Experimental Dublin team overcome Dubs Stars at Parnell Park

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Keane

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel