Wednesday 8 February 2023 Dublin: 8°C
# front man
UCD Sigerson winner to captain Laois U21's for Wednesday's Leinster opener
Eoin Lowry was corner-forward on the UCD team that won last Saturday.

AFTER WINNING THE Sigerson Cup with UCD last Saturday, Eoin Lowry captains the Laois U21 side in Wednesday night’s opening round of the EirGrid Leinster U21 football championship.

The UCD team celebrate winning the Sigerson Cup Presseye / Declan Roughan/INPHO The UCD players celebrate winning the Sigerson Cup Presseye / Declan Roughan/INPHO / Declan Roughan/INPHO

Lowry started at right corner-forward as UCD triumphed last Saturday against DCU.

He’ll captain the Laois U21′s against Louth in Haggardstown on Wednesday night at full-forward.

Conor Moynagh and Eoin Lowry Presseye / Declan Roughan/INPHO Eoin Lowry (right) in action in last Saturday's Sigerson Cup final in Belfast Presseye / Declan Roughan/INPHO / Declan Roughan/INPHO

Lowry is joined in the attack by Evan O’Carroll who has been named at centre-forward by manager Derek Conroy and has plenty senior experience.

He struck 0-3 in the Laois senior side’s recent league win over Armagh.

Shea Heffron with Evan O'Carroll Presseye / Jonathan Porter/INPHO Evan O'Carroll (right) in action for Laois in their Division 1 league tie against Armagh Presseye / Jonathan Porter/INPHO / Jonathan Porter/INPHO


1. Aaron Cooney (St Joseph’s Barrowhouse)

2. Liam Knowles (Stradbally)
3. Adam Campion (St Joseph’s Barrowhouse)
4. Eoin Buggie (Stradbally)

5. Trevor Collins (Graiguecullen)
6. Robbie Dowling (The Heath)
7. Daniel O’Reilly (Graiguecullen)

8. Brian Daly (St Joseph’s)
9. Nigel Murphy (Emo Courtwood)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

10. Danny Hickey (St Joseph’s Barrowhouse)
11. Evan O’Carroll (Crettyard)
12. Aaron Dowling (The Rock)

13. Colm Murphy (Portarlington)
14. Eoin Lowry (Killeshin)
15. Sean Moore (Ballyfin)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Blow for third-level giants as four-time Sigerson Cup winning coach steps down

Where are they now: Limerick’s Andrew O’Shaughnessy

Your Voice
Readers Comments