Dublin: 16°C Tuesday 21 September 2021

Italy dominate Uefa's official Team of Euro 2020

There are three England players included, with one each from Spain, Denmark, and Belgium.

Italy celebrate their European title.
Italy celebrate their European title.
Image: SIPA USA/PA Images

Updated Jul 13th 2021, 12:03 PM

FIVE ITALIAN PLAYERS have been included in Uefa’s official Team of the Tournament for Euro 2020. 

Player of the Tournament Gianluigi Donnarumma is unsurprisingly picked in goal, with Leonardos Bonucci and Spinazzola included in defence. Bonucci was Man of the Match in the final, while Spinazzola was outstanding before his tournament was cruelly cut short by an Achilles injury in the closing stages of the quarter-final win over Belgium. 

Elsewhere, Jorginho is named in midfield, while Juventus’ Federico Chiesa is included in attack. 

Beaten finalists England are the next-best represented, with defenders Harry Maguire and Kyle Walker included along with Raheem Sterling. 

Spain’s sensational teenage midfielder Pedri is also included, along with Spurs and Denmark midfielder Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg. Belgium striker Romelu Lukaku is also included, and is the only member of the XI who did not play in the semi-final. 

The team was selected by Uefa’s Technical Observers of the competition, a list which includes Irish legends Robbie Keane and Packie Bonner. 

Uefa Euro 2020 Team of the Tournament 


Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy)

Kyle Walker (England)

Leonardo Bonucci (Italy)

Harry Maguire (England)

Leonardo Spinazzola (Italy)


Pierre-Emile Højbjerg (Denmark)

Jorginho (Italy)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Pedri (Spain)


Federico Chiesa (Italy)

Romelu Lukaku (Belgium)

Raheem Sterling (England)

Uefa’s Technical Observers

Packie Bonner, Esteban Cambiasso, Fabio Capello, Cosmin Contra, Corinne Diacre, Jean-François Domergue, Dušan Fitzel, Steffen Freund, Frans Hoek, Aitor Karanka, Robbie Keane, Ginés Meléndez, David Moyes, Mixu Paatelainen, Peter Rudbæk, Willi Ruttensteiner

First published today at 11.00

About the author:

Gavin Cooney

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel