Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Monday 10 May 2021

Tomás Corrigan drags Fermanagh to victory over Antrim in Ulster

Corrigan kicked nine points in an excellent display of score-taking as the Erne men advanced to the last eight of Ulster.

Image: Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO

Fermanagh 1-12

Antrim 0-9

FERMANAGH WRAPPED UP a third championship win over Antrim in the space of 12 months with a six point victory in the Ulster SFC preliminary round at Brewster Park.

Pete McGrath’s side booked a quarter-final date with Donegal after seeing off a mini-fightback from Antrim in the second-half.

Sean Quigley’s 69th minute goal settled Fermanagh’s nerves after Antrim had cut an eight-point deficit down to three in front of 9,124 in Brewster Park.

Fermanagh led by 0-9 to 0-2 at the interval but Antrim set their stall out in the second-half by hitting five unanswered scores.

Fermanagh’s well-drilled defence prevented Antrim scoring from play until the 47th minute of the game, when Tomas McCann slotted over.

Tomas Corrigan top-scored for the Erne men with nine points, including two excellent sideline kicks.

“For long periods in the second half we were sleepwalking,” Fermanagh boss McGrath said after the game.

“It was a nervous time for us. We let Antrim back into it and that is a concern.

“The result was satisfactory but the performance overall you have to say we did OK but can do better.”

Scorers for Fermanagh: T Corrigan 0-9; S Quigley 1-0; D Mc Cusker 0-1; A Breen 0-1; S Quigley 0-1

Scorers for Antrim: B Neeson 0-2; T McCann 0-3; M Sweeney 0-1; J Carron 0-1; R Murray 0-1


C Snow

M Jones
C Cullen
M O’Brien

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

D McCusker
J McMahon
B Mulrone

E Donnelly
A Breen

P McCusker
R Jones
R Lyons

R Corrigan
S Quigley
T Corrigan


C Flaherty for Lyons (46)
D Teague for R Corrigan (56)
D Kelly for Breen (67)
P Cadden for P McCusker (70)


C Kerr

K O’Boyle
R Johnston
N Delargy

P McBride
M Johnston
J Laverty

M Sweeney
C Murray

M Fitzpatrick
K Niblock
J Carron;

B Neeson
T McCann
M McCann


S McVeigh for Murray (HT)
D McAleese for Laverty (47)
R Murray for Fitzpatrick (56)
S Burke for Neeson (59)

‘If we can score 18 points off them, you’d think Dublin would probably double that’ – Magee

Offaly finally break Leinster hoodoo with first provincial win in nine years

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: