This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 20 October, 2019

Fermanagh ease past Westmeath to book first All-Ireland quarter-final spot in 11 years

Tomas Corrigan was the star of the show.

Declan McCusker and Che Cullen celebrate at the final whistle.
Declan McCusker and Che Cullen celebrate at the final whistle.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Fermanagh 1-13

Westmeath 0-7

TOMAS CORRIGAN BLASTED a brilliant 1-7 as breakthrough side Fermanagh secured a first All-Ireland quarter-final spot in 11 years at Westmeath’s expense.

Peter McGrath’s team were level at half-time at Kingspan Breffni Park but opened up with some excellent play after the break, much of it coming from Corrigan, to secure their passage.

The corner-forward initially dragged Fermanagh back to level terms with three points late in the first-half and then stepped up to another level with 1-4 after the break.

His 64th minute goal was a peach as he found space in the Westmeath danger zone and lifted a clever lob above the head of the advancing Gary Connaughton in Westmeath’s goal.

Poor Westmeath badly lacked craft up front where they were missing key attacker John Heslin while captain Ger Egan was only fit enough to come on at half-time.

Egan replaced John Connellan who conjured a couple of moments of inspiration early on when he kicked four points before limping out of the action.

It was that sort of afternoon for Westmeath and while they were level at half-time on 0-5 apiece they bombed out badly after the restart, scoring twice and just once from play.

Tomas Corrigan celebrates scoring a point Tomas Corrigan scored 1-7 at Kingspan Breffni Park. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

The Leinster finalists went 28 minutes without a score at one stage as Fermanagh, missing Ryan McCluskey and Marty O’Brien after first-half black cards, scored 1-6 without reply.

Fermanagh’s reward for victory in front of 10,738 is a first All-Ireland quarter-final appearance since 2004 and they will face Kerry or Dublin on August 2 at Croke Park.

Scorers for Fermanagh: Tomas Corrigan 1-7 (0-5f), Sean Quigley 0-2 (0-1f), Declan McCusker, Niall Cassidy, Declan McCusker and
Damien Kelly 0-1 each.

Scorers for Westmeath: John Connellan 0-4 (0-2f), Shane Dempsey, Dennis Glennon and Ray Connellan (0-1f) 0-1 each.


1. Thomas Treacy (An Deibhinis)

2. Mickey Jones (Doire O gConaile)
3. Tiarnan Daly (Doire O gConaile)
4. Niall Cassidy (Ros Liath)

10. Barry Mulrone (An Deibhinis)
6. Ryan McCluskey (Inis Ceithleann)
7. James McMahon (Ros Liath)

8. Eoin Donnelly (An Cuach)
9. Richard O’Callaghan (Inis Ceithleann)

5. Marty O’Brien (An Deibhinis)

11. Ryan Jones (Doire O gConaile)
12. Declan McCusker (Naomh Seosamh)

13. Paul McCusker (Naomh Seosamh)
14. Sean Quigley (Ros Liath)
15. Tomas Corrigan (Cill Naile)

21. Damien Kelly (Tempo) for O’Brien (20, black card)
25. Ruairi Corrigan (Cill Naile) for McCluskey (28, black card)
19. Conal Jones (Doire O gConaile) for Donnelly (44)
18. Che Cullen (Beal Leice) for Cassidy (70)

John Gilligan under pressure Westmeath were put under pressure and were unable to deal with a rampant Fermanagh outfit. Source: James Crombie/INPHO


1. Darren Quinn (Tyrrellspass)

2. Kevin Maguire (Caulry)
3. Kieran Gavin (Mullingar Shamrocks)
4. Francis Boyle (Killucan)

10. John Gilligan (Ballymore)
6. Paddy Holloway (Castledaly)
5. Killian Daly (Mullingar Shamrocks)

8. Dennis Corroon (Mullingar Shamrocks)
11. Ray Connellan (Athlone)

7. James Dolan (Garrycastle)
9. Paul Sharry (St Loman’s Mullingar)
12. Kieran Martin (Maryland)

13. John Connellan (Athlone)
14. Dennis Glennon (Tyrrellspass)
15. Shane Dempsey (St Loman’s Mullingar)

23. Ger Egan (Tyrrellspass) for J Connellan (h/t)
17. David Lynch (St Malachy’s) for Maguire (41)
21. Darragh Daly (Mullingar Shamrocks) for Dempsey (46)
16. Gary Connaughton (Tubberclair) for Quinn (56)
24. Lorcan Smyth (Mullingar Shamrocks) for Glennon (58)
22. Paul Greville (Killucan) for Holloway (58)

Referee: Padraig Hughes (Armagh).

LIVE: Cork v Kildare, All-Ireland senior football qualifier

Dublin’s minor hurlers are back in an All-Ireland semi-final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Keane

Read next: