Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Sunday 16 May 2021

First squads named as Cork GAA looks towards fresh start

Peader Healy and Kieran Kingston begin their tenures as Rebel head coaches on Sunday.

Peader Healy.
Peader Healy.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

CORK’S TEAMS FOR their season openers this weekend have been named and hopes are high for 2016 with new men in charge of both codes.

Peader Healy begins his tenure as senior inter-county football boss against Limerick on Sunday in the McGrath Cup, throw-in 2pm, in Mallow.

It is an experimental line-up, as expected, with Conor Dorman, Mark Collins, Kevin O’Driscoll, Tomás Clancy and Brian Hurley the only men on the panel who took the field in Brian Cuthbert’s last game in charge – an eight-point qualifier defeat to Kildare last July. He has, however, opted to start the experienced Daniel Goulding at full-forward.

In hurling, Kieran Kingston, who succeeded Jimmy Barry Murphy last October, begins his reign against Clare at the same time in Sixmilebridge.

Up against Kingston will be former Cork goalkeeper Donal Óg Cusack who is now part of Davy Fitzgerald’s Banner management team.

Kingston has included a number of high-profile names in his 26-man panel with the likes of Damian Cahalane, Mark Ellis, Cormac Murphy, Shane O’Neill, Patrick Horgan, Alan Cadogan, Páidí O’Sullivan, Stephen Moylan and Bill Cooper listed.

Cork senior football team to play Limerick:
1. Micheál Martin (Nemo Rangers)
2. Colm O’ Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
3. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
4. Jamie Davis (Douglas)
5. Mark Collins (O’ Donovan Rossa)
6. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy
7. Alan O’ Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs)
9. Rory Deane (Bantry Blues)
10. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
11. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)
12. Kevin O’ Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
13. Dan McEoin (Ilen Rovers)
14. Daniel Goulding (Eire Óg)
15. Seamus Hickey (Rockchapel)
16. Brendan O’ Connell (Glanmire)
17. Lorcan Harrington (Castletownbere)
18. Bart Daly (Newmarket)
19. Shane Beston (Mitchelstown)
20. Brian Coughlan (Kinsale)
21. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
22. Daniel Hazel (O’ Donovan Rossa)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Cork senior hurling team to play Clare:
1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
2. Conor Twomey (Newtownshandrum)
3. Patrick O’Mahony (Midleton)
4. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)
5. Brian Moylan (Glen Rovers)
6. Damian Cahalane (St Finbarrs)
7. William Egan (Kilbrin)
8. Paul Haughney (Midleton)
9. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
10. William Leahy (Aghada)
11. Paidi O’Sullivan (Cloyne)
12. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers)
13. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)
14. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
15.Trevor Horgan (Newcestown)
16. Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills)
17. Niall Cashman (Blackrock)
18. Darren Browne (Kanturk)
19. Patrick O’Rourke (Na Piarsaigh)
20. Cathal Cormack (Blackrock)
21. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
22. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
23. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)
24. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
25. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
26. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)

New Mayo boss Rochford names 23-man panel for his first game

The sportspeople the world sadly lost in 2015 

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: