Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 17°C Saturday 8 May 2021

Four changes to the Scotland XV selected to start against Ireland

Murrayfield will play host to the Six Nations meeting of the two sides on Sunday afternoon.

Sean Maitland returns to the Scotland XV.
Sean Maitland returns to the Scotland XV.
Image: PA

SCOTLAND HEAD COACH Gregor Townsend has unveiled his selection for the Six Nations clash with Ireland at Murrayfield on Sunday [KO 3pm, Virgin/BBC].

The starting XV shows four changes from the narrow defeat to Wales in Cardiff four weeks ago.

Saracens wing Sean Maitland returns at the expense of Darcy Graham, while Sam Johnson comes in for James Lang at centre.

The other two adjustments are to the pack, with prop WP Nel and flanker Jamie Ritchie replacing Zander Fagerson and Blade Thomson respectively.

“We are well aware of the threats posed by an experienced Ireland squad and our players have prepared for a contest they know is going to require one of their best performances,” Townsend said.

“We had prepared well for our postponed game against France, and the players have adapted well to the change of plans and have brought real energy and focus to our training sessions this week.

“Playing Ireland is always a physical affair and one that demands you keep stepping up to make tackles or contest for possession. They have played well in their opening three games and have some outstanding players in their squad. It should be a cracking game.”


15. Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs – captain)
14. Sean Maitland (Saracens)
13. Chris Harris (Gloucester)
12. Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors)
11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh)
10. Finn Russell (Racing 92)
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors)

1. Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh)
2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors)
3. WP Nel (Edinburgh)
4. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors)
5. Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs)
6. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh)
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh)
8. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member


16. David Cherry (Edinburgh)
17. Jamie Bhatti (Bath Rugby)
18. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh)
19. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh)
20. Nick Haining (Edinburgh)
21. Scott Steele (Harlequins)
22. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors)
23. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh)

Gavan Casey, Bernard Jackman, and Murray Kinsella discuss CVC’s share in the Six Nations, TV rights, Ireland’s trip to Edinburgh, and last weekend’s inter-pros:

Source: The42 Rugby Weekly/SoundCloud

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel