Friday 27 January 2023 Dublin: 3°C
Donall Farmer/INPHO
# starting XV
Galway select minor team they hope will retain Connacht title in Sunday's final against Mayo
Pearse Stadium hosts Sunday’s curtain-raiser.

GALWAY HAVE NAMED their side for Sunday’s Electric Ireland Connacht minor football final against Mayo.

And the Tribesmen have kept faith with the side that saw off Roscommon in their recent semi-final clash.

Galway are hoping to retain a crown they won last year with a final replay win over Sligo with two survivors in their starting side from that game.

Left half-forward Ryan Forde and full-forward Finian Ó Laoi both started in that game while right half-forward Barry Goldrick and left corner-forward Desmond Conneely – who captains the side – came on as substitutes twelve months ago.

The throw-in for Sunday’s curtain-raiser in Salthill is 12pm.


1. Cormac Haslam (Glenamaddy)

2. Eoghan Deeley (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
3. Sean Mulkerrin (Aran Islands)
4. Eoin McFadden (Salthill/Knocknacarra)

5. Adam Quirke (Annaghdown)
6. Earnan McDonagh (Barna)
7. Fionnán Garvey (Monivea/Abbey)

8. Sean Raftery (Glenamaddy)
9. Ross Murphy (Barna)

10. Barry Goldrick (Claregalway)
11. Evan Murphy (Salthill Knocknacarra)
12. Ryan Forde (Annaghdown)

13. Robert Finnerty (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
14. Finian Ó Laoi (Spiddal)
15. Desmond Conneely (Maigh Cuilinn – captain)


1. Adam Byrne (Aghamore)

2. Cathal Horan (Kilmovee)
3. Donovan Cosgrove (Kiltimagh – captain)
4. John Cunnane (Ballyhaunis)

5. Brian O’Malley (Westport)
6. Matthew Macken (Claremorris)
7. John Maughan (Castlebar Mitchels)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

8. Colm Murphy (Balla)
9. Nathan Moran (Hollymount-Carramore)

10. Paul Lambert (Westport)
11. Ross Egan (Aghamore)
12. Oisin McLaughlin (Westport)

13. Colm Moran (Westport)
14. Ryan O’Donoghue (Belmullet)
15. Nathan McGhee (Shrule-Glencorrib)


16. Patrick O’Malley (Westport)
17. Sean Kenny (Aghamore)
18. Liam Kelly (Kiltimagh)
19. Conor Stenson (Castlebar Mitchels)
20. Stephen McGreal (Claremorris)
21. Evan O’Brien (Ballinrobe)
22. Justin Healy (Cill Chomáin)
23. Ethan Gibbons (Castlebar Mitchels)
24. Tommy Conroy (The Neale)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

From working in a Santa Barbara ice cream parlour to playing in a Connacht football final

This is the Galway team hoping to win the county’s first Connacht senior football title in 8 years