Dublin: 9°C Monday 27 September 2021

Galway hurling star Johnny Glynn named on New York senior football panel

He joins former Galway footballer Johnny Duane in the 40-man squad.

Johnny Glynn after last year's All-Ireland hurling final.
Johnny Glynn after last year's All-Ireland hurling final.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

FORMER GALWAY HURLER Johnny Glynn has been named in New York’s 40-man panel for their Connacht senior championship opener with Roscommon on 1 May.

Glynn left for America following his county’s defeat to Kilkenny in the 2015 All-Ireland hurling final and has been named alongside former Galway footballer Johnny Duane who will captain the team in Gaelic Park.

Duane actually lined out against New York in last year’s provincial opener which the American side lost by 16 points.

Killian Moynagh, a former All-Ireland U21 winner with Galway, has also been selected by Justin O’Halloran and his backroom team.

New York Panel:

New York club in brackets

Johnny Duane, Captain, (Donegal), Gerard McCartan, Vice-Captain, (Monaghan), Ronan McGinley (Monaghan), Paul Lambe (Monaghan), Killian Moyna (Cavan), Paddy Boyle (Donegal), Eoin McPhillips (Monaghan), Keith Scally (Westmeath), Keith Quinn (Donegal), Enda Sweeney (Monaghan), Michael Moore (Kerry), Michael Reilly (Cavan), Shane Hogan (St Barnabas GFC), John Commerford (Cavan), Johnny Glynn (Monaghan), Luke O’Loughlin (Cork), Johnny Power (Rangers GFC), Brian Connor (Donegal), Brian Gallagher (Cork), Paddy McNiece (Donegal), Luke Loughlin (Westmeath), Niall Egan (Donegal), Kevin Connolly (Brooklyn Shamrocks GFC), Darren Freeman (Monaghan), Peadar O’Seoighe (Cork), Barry O’Mahony (Donegal), David Freeman (Monaghan), Anthony Brady (Cavan), Vinny Cadden (Sligo), Brian Cullinan (Donegal)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Seanie Johnston returns for Cavan as Sean Cavanagh makes landmark Tyrone appearance

Kerry make 2 changes for Sunday’s league final against Dublin

About the author:

Steve O'Rourke

Read next: