Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 0°C Friday 27 November 2020

Cavan complete Ulster U21 football 3-in-a-row

The Breffni County had four points to spare over Donegal tonight.

Cavan's Turloch Mooney with Donegal's Luke Keaney.
Cavan's Turloch Mooney with Donegal's Luke Keaney.
Image: INPHO/Presseye/Jonathan Porter

Cavan 0-13
Donegal 1-6

CAVAN were crowned Ulster U21 football champions again tonight in Brewster Park in Enniskillen as they got the better of Donegal by four points.

Appearing in their fourth successive final in this grade, Cavan maintained the county’s remarkable recent record at this level as they lifted silverware for the third successive year.

The Peter O’Reilly managed side will now go forward to the All-Ireland series where they will meet Cork, who were crowned Munster champions tonight.

That match will take place on Saturday week April 20th in O’Connor Park in Tullamore at 3.45pm.

Despite senior attacking star Patrick McBrearty notching five points, Donegal were forced to give way to a superior Cavan side.

Cavan laid the foundations for this success with a sparkling first-half display as they forged ahead by 0-7 to 0-2 at the interval.

They were 0-4 to 0-1 ahead by the 10th minute mark and five points clear by the halfway point as Chris Conroy, Enda O’Reilly and Gerry Smith all grabbed quality scores.

Donegal moved back into contention early in the second-half when Willie Gillespie fired to the net for the only goal of the game.

Jack Brady steadied Cavan’s challenge with some accurate free taking as they went 0-11 to 1-3 clear.

However McBrearty notched three points in succession to cut the gap to leave it at 0-11 to 1-6 with only seven minutes remaining.

But despite having seen their lead reduced to two points, Cavan held their nerve to close out the game with Brady and substitute Paul Graham popping up with the insurance late points.

Scorers for Cavan: Jack Brady 0-4 (0-4f), Chris Conroy 0-3, Enda O’Reilly (0-1f), Gerry Smith 0-2 each, Paul O’Connor, Paul Graham 0-1 each.
Scorers for Donegal: Patrick McBrearty 0-5 (0-1f), Willie Gillespie 1-0, Darach O’Connor 0-1

CAVAN: Conor Gilsenan (Bailieborough); Jason McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels), Killian Clarke (Shercock), Ciaran Brady (Arva); Daragh McVeety (Crosserlough), Daragh Sexton (Cavan Gaels), Feargal Flanagan (Butlersbridge); Brian Sankey (Shercock), Michael Argue (Bailieborough); Gerry Smith (Lavey), Chris Conroy (Lavey), Turloc Mooney (Redhills); Enda O’Reilly (Mullahoran), Paul O’Connor (Cavan Gaels), Jack Brady (Ramor Utd).

Subs: Chris Madden for Conroy, Paul Graham for Mooney.

DONEGAL: Peter Boyle (Aodh Rua); Kevin McFadden (Cloughaneely), Caolan Ward (St Eunan’s), Gavin Gallagher (Sean MacCumhaill’s); Pauric Carr (Kilcar), Martin O’Reilly (Sean MacCumhaill’s), Luke Keeney (Four Masters); Darach O’Connor (Buncrana), Leon Kelly (Glenswilly); Ryan McHugh (Kilcar), Odhran MacNiallais (Gweedore), Conor Gibbons (St Eunan’s); William Gillespie (Naomh Colmcille), Patrick McBrearty (Kilcar), Eoin McHugh (Kilcar).

Referee: Ciaran Brannagan (Down)

9 things to know about tonight’s provincial U21 football finals

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel