Saturday 4 February 2023 Dublin: 4°C
# Called Up
Bonner and Horgan spearhead Irish senior shinty squad, Clare stars lead U21 setup
Ireland play Scotland on October 18th and 25th.

James Crombie / INPHO Bonner Maher in action in last year's Shinty Test. James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

TIPPERARY’S PATRICK ‘BONNER’ Maher and the Cork duo of Patrick Horgan and Conor Lehane are high-profile members of the 19-man Irish shinty squad that face Scotland in the 2014 Senior Hurling/Shinty International Series.

The teams face off in Bught Park in Inverness on Saturday October 18th at 2pm in the first test. The return game will be played in Newry on October 25th at 5pm with the countries set to play in the U21 game at 3pm.

The senior test will be shown live on TG4 and the Irish team will be managed again this year by Kilkenny’s Michael Walsh. Five members of last year’s Irish squad are included on this occasion – Maher, Eoin Price, Eoin Reilly, Darragh O’Connell and Paul Divilly.

Tipperary’s Maher, the Cork duo of Horgan and Lehane and 2013 Allstar Clare’s David McInerney are the highest-profile inclusions in the team. In all there are nine newcomers in the squad.

Senior Squad

1. Eoin Reilly (Laois)
2. Mickey Burke (Meath)
3. Paul Dermody (Kildare)
4. Paul Divilly (Kildare)
5. John Egan (Kerry) – Senior Debut
6. David English (Carlow)
7. Patrick Horgan (Cork)
8. Conor Lehane (Cork) - Senior Debut

Conor Lehane Ryan Byrne / INPHO Cork's Conor Lehane. Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

9. Patrick Bonner Maher (Tipperary)
10. Conor McCann (Antrim) - Senior Debut
11. Neal McCauley (Antrim)
11. Jonny McCusker (Down) - Senior Debut
12. David McInerney (Clare) - Senior Debut
13. Brian Murphy (Kerry) - Senior Debut
15. Shane Nolan (Kerry) - Senior Debut
16. Darragh O’Connell (Kerry)
17. Eoin Price (Westmeath)
18. Matthew Whelan (Laois) - Senior Debut
19. David Kettle (Louth) - Senior Debut

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Tony Kelly on the attack Donall Farmer / INPHO Clare's Tony Kelly. Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

CLARE ALL-IRELAND winners Tony Kelly and Seadna Morey lead the way in the Irish U21 shinty squad. Both players won senior and U21 All-Ireland hurling medals last year while Kelly captained a Clare team that featured Morey to a third successive Bord Gáis Energy All-Ireland U21 hurling title last month.

They are joined by the likes of Galway’s Dean Higgins, Laois player Joe Campion and Westmeath’s Niall O’Brien.

U21 Squad

1. Paddy McKenna (Kildare)
2. Joseph Boyle (Westmeath)
3. Joe Campion (Laois)
4. Thomas Casey (Kerry)
5. Evan Dempsey (Kildare)
6. Michael Dudley (Antrim)
7. Dean Higgins (Galway)
8. Gerry Keegan (Kildare)

Gerry Keegan Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

9. Tony Kelly (Clare)
10. Daniel McKernan (Antrim)
11. Seadna Morey (Clare)
12. Aaron Nugent (Wicklow)
13. Niall O’Brien (Westmeath)
14. Brendan O’Leary (Kerry)
15. Stephen Renaghan (Armagh)
16. James Toher (Meath)
17. Brett Nicholson (Down)
18. Noel Fallon (Roscommon)

Noel Fallon dejected Donall Farmer / INPHO Roscommon's Noel Fallon. Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

Ex Laois and Limerick manager boss to join Roscommon backroom team for 2015

‘The propaganda that was perpetrated against Liam McHale was completely wrong’

Your Voice
Readers Comments