Friday 27 January 2023 Dublin: 2°C
James Crombie/INPHO Ireland's George Dockrell appeals unsuccessfully for a LBW.
# Howzat?
Sri Lanka beat Ireland by 79 runs at Clontarf
The two-match series concludes in Dublin on Thursday,

SRI LANKA BEAT Ireland by 79 runs to win the first one-day international at Clontarf today.

After losing the toss, Sri Lanka made 219 for eight in their full 50 overs before dismissing Ireland for just 140 in reply with more than 10 overs to spare.

Man-of-the-match Ajantha Mendis starred with both bat and ball for Sri Lanka, hitting an unbeaten 18 off just nine balls before taking three wickets for 27 runs with his unorthodox spin.

Suranga Lakmal struck with the new ball on his way to three for 29 in an innings where Ireland captain William Porterfield top-scored with 37.

Niall O'Brien celebrates after he hit the stumps to run out Angelo Mathews 6/5/2014 James Crombie / INPHO Ireland's Niall O'Brien celebrates after he hit the stumps to run out Angelo Mathews. James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Sri Lanka had been in trouble at 95 for five before the lower order, with Nuwan Kulasekara making an unbeaten 42, got the tourists — without star batsmen Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara — to a total that proved more than enough.

The two-match series concludes at Clontarf on Thursday, with Sri Lanka then continuing their tour with limited overs and Test campaigns in England.

General view of Castle Avenue James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO


Sri Lanka

K. Perera c K O’Brien b Murtagh 0

U. Tharanga c Wilson b Thompson 24

L. Thirimanne c Wilson b Cusack 8

D. Chandimal c and b K O’Brien 39

A. Matthews run out (Thompson) 30

K. Vithanage c Joyce b Stirling 5

A. Priyanjan c Joyce b Dockrell 31

N. Kulasekara not out 42

S. Senanayake c Dockrell b Murtagh 3

A. Mendis not out 18

Extras (lb1, w18) 19

Total (8, wkts 50 overs) 219

Did not bat: S Lakmal

Fall of wickets 1-0 (Perera), 2-25 (Thirimanne), 3-57 (Tharanga), 4-90 (Chandimal) 5-95 (Vithanage), 6-135 (Matthews,) 7-160 (Priyanjana), 8-176 (Senanayake)

Bowling: Murtagh 10-1-21-2; Sorensen 8-1-31-0 (1w); Cusack 8-1-53-1 (3w); Thompson 4-0-19-1 (2w); Dockrell 10-0-45-1 (2w); K O Brien 2-0-10-1 (1w); P Stirling 8-1-39-1 (2w)


W. Porterfield c Perera b Mendis 37

P. Stirling b Kulasekara 4

E. Joyce c Chandimal b Lakmal 0

N. O’Brien lbw b Mendis 33

G. Wilson run out (Sennayake) 3

K. O’Brien c Senanayake b Lakmal 0

S. Thompson lbw b Mendis 1

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

A. Cusack b Lakmal 10

M. Sorensen lbw b Kulasekara 17

G. Dockrell not out 18

T. Murtagh lbw b Senanayake 10

Extras (lb3, w4) 7

Total (all out, 39.5 overs) 140

Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Stirling), 2-5 (Joyce), 3-63 (N O’Brien), 4-67 (Wilson), 5-69 (K O’Brien), 6-74(Thompson), 7-86 (Porterfield), 8-97 (Cusack), 9-125 (Sorensen), 10-140 (Murtagh)

Bowling: Lakmal 8-1-29-3 (1w); Kulasekara 8-3-30-2; Mathews 2-0-6-0; Senanayake 7.5-1-27-1; Mendis 10-1-27-3 (2w); A Priyanjan 3-0-11-0 (1w); Vithanage 1-0-7-0

Result: Sri Lanka won by 79 runs

Man-of-the-match: Ajantha Mendis (SRI)

Series: Sri Lanka lead two-match series 1-0

Toss: Ireland

Umpires: Richard Kettleborough (ENG) and Richard Smith (IRL)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Remaining Fixture: May 8: 2nd ODI, Clontarf

© -AFP 2014

Dortmund star Grosskreutz ‘sorry’ for throwing spicy kebab at rival fan’s head

Tottenham blame ‘security breach’ for tweet mocking Liverpool’s title failure

Related Tags