Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Sunday 18 April 2021

Exciting teenage flanker Penny gets the nod for Ireland U20 Six Nations opener

Noel McNamara’s side welcome England to Irish Independent Park in Cork this Friday.

Scott Penny in action for Leinster during their Pro14 clash with Ulster earlier this month.
Scott Penny in action for Leinster during their Pro14 clash with Ulster earlier this month.
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

LEINSTER’S TEENAGE FLANKER Scott Penny has been named in the Ireland U20 side that will begin their Six Nations campaign against England this Friday at Musgrave Park [KO, 7.15pm].

Penny is an exciting prospect who has already broken through to the senior ranks of the province despite being in just his first year at the academy.

The 19-year-old made his debut in Leinster’s Guinness Pro14 victory over the Ospreys last November and impressed for Leo Cullen’s charges in the RDS. He has made four appearances in that competition so far.

While Penny takes up the number seven jersey for Noel McNamara’s side, Munster academy’s Josh Wycherley — brother of Fineen — has been named to start in the front row.

Harry Byrne has been selected at out-half after his brother Ross made his Ireland senior debut in November. Former Ireland U18 schools captain Craig Casey has been selected to start at scrum-half.

Liam Turner takes up his position in the centre after previously captaining Blackrock to a Leinster Senior Cup title and will form a midfield partnership with captain David Hawshaw.

Ireland team v England

15. Jake Flannery (Shannon/Munster)
14. Conor Phillips (Young Munster/Munster)
13. Liam Turner (Dublin University/Leinster)
12. David Hawkshaw (Clontarf/Leinster) (capt)
11. Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution/Munster)
10. Harry Byrne (Lansdowne/Leinster) *
9. Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster)

1. Josh Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster)
2. Dylan Tierney Martin (Corinthians/Connacht) *
3. Thomas Clarkson (Dublin University/Leinster)
4. Charlie Ryan (UCD/Leinster) *
5. Niall Murray (Buccaneers/Connacht)
6. Martin Moloney (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
7. Scott Penny (UCD/Leinster)
8. John Hodnett (UCC/Munster)


16. John McKee (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
17. Michael Milne (UCD/Leinster)
18. Ryan Lomas (Galwegians/Connacht)
19. Brian Deeny (Clontarf/Leinster)
20. David McCann (Banbridge/Ulster)
21. Cormac Foley (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
22. Sean French (Cork Constitution/Munster)
23. Rob Russell (Dublin University/Leinster)

* Denotes previously capped player at Under-20 level


Join us to preview the Six Nations with Simon Zebo, Murray Kinsella and Gavan Casey on Thursday @7pm in Liberty Hall Theatre Dublin.

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel