This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Friday 3 April, 2020

It was all about Cork at the Ladies Football All Star awards

The Leesiders picked up six All Stars on Saturday night and saw midfielder Juliet Murphy crowned Player of the Year.

Juliet Murphy
Juliet Murphy

ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS CORK had further celebrations to enjoy on Saturday night when midfielder Juliet Murphy was named the first ever Senior Players’ Player of the Year.

The announcement was made at the 2011 O’Neills/TG4 Ladies Gaelic Football All Stars event in Dublin, with Eamonn Ryan’s squad claiming six All Stars in total – including one for Murphy.

The Donoughmore woman claimed the honour ahead of team-mate Briege Corkery and Monaghan’s Sharon Courtney, having helped the Rebel County claim their sixth title back in September.

Deirdre O’Reilly was recognised for her efforts at left corner back, and Cork completely dominated the half back line with Corkery, Bríd Stack and Geraldine O’Flynn all collecting awards. Full forward Rhona Ní Bhuachalla was Cork’s other winner on the night.

Finalists Monaghan were also well represented with Gráinne McNally, Courtney, Therese McNally and Ciara McAnespie all picking up honours.

Otherwise, there were also All Stars for goalkeeper Irene Munnelly (Meath), midfielder Tracey Lawlor (Laois), half forwards Elaine Kelly (Dublin) and Mary Kirwan (Laois) as well as corner forward Sinéad Aherne (Dublin).

“The 2011 All Star night was a fantastic success,” President of the Ladies Gaelic Football Association, Pat Quill said (see RTÉ).

“We saw some of our top, most consistent players over the last decade receive further recognition of their individual talent and for some they accepted the honour for the first time in their career.

“The first Players’ Player of the Year for the three grades was also a wonderful addition to the event and a huge honour for the three girls who received the award.”

2011 O’Neills/TG4 ALL STARS TEAM

Goalkeeper: Irene Munnelly (Meath)

Backs: Gráinne McNally (Monaghan), Sharon Courtney (Monaghan), Deirdre O’Reilly (Cork), Briege Corkery (Cork), Bríd Stack (Cork), Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork)

Midfielders: Juliet Murphy (Cork), Tracey Lawlor (Laois)

Forwards: Therese McNally (Monaghan), Elaine Kelly (Dublin), Mary Kirwan (Laois), Ciara McAnespie (Monaghan), Rhona Ní Bhuachalla (Cork), Sinéad Aherne (Dublin)

WATCH – Brigids prepare for Summerhill test

READ - The sporting tweets of the week

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel