This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 8 °C Monday 10 December, 2018
Advertisement

Was James McCarthy on the receiving end of a Branislav Ivanovic headbutt tonight?

The Irish international picked up a booking for his part.

SHORTLY BEFORE WILLIAN scored a late winner for Chelsea this evening, Nemanja Matic thought he’d found the back of the net himself only for the goal to be ruled out after Branislav Ivanovic was adjudged to be offside.

Both sides clashed when Gareth Barry tripped Willian – resulting in an early bath for the former Aston Villa man – before Ivanovic is seen moving his head towards Ireland international McCarthy.

https://vine.co/v/OPuluv2e3x9

The Serbian escaped censure but McCarthy was booked for his role in the incident.

Late goal moves Chelsea ever closer to the Premier League title

Luis Suarez sets up goals for both teams as Barcelona beat Villareal

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

About the author:

Steve O'Rourke

Read next:

COMMENTS (25)

This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel