Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Sunday 9 May 2021

Tipperary draft in newcomers to hurling side

The team sheets are also in for the Limerick hurlers and the footballers of Tipperary, Kildare and Monaghan ahead of this weekend’s games.

Tipperary's John O'Dwyer.
Tipperary's John O'Dwyer.
Image: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

TIPPERARY HAVE HANDED competitive senior debuts to Joey McLoughney and John O’Dwyer for their 2013 hurling bow on Sunday against Limerick.

New boss Eamonn O’Shea has drafted in the newcomers for the clash in the Waterford Crystal Cup in Nenagh.

McLoughney, who captained Tipperary to win the 2006 All-Ireland minor title, is named at right half-back.

While O’Dwyer, an All-Ireland U21 winner in 2010, is selected at right half-forward.

Seven of the Tipperary team that started in last August’s heavy All-Ireland semi-final loss to Kilkenny have been named in the starting fifteen for Sunday’s game.

Brendan Cummins, Conor O’Brien, Paul Curran, Conor O’Mahony, Noel McGrath, Patrick Maher and Brian O’Meara are the survivors from that game.

With the Thurles Sarsfields quartet of Michael Cahill, Padraic Maher, Pa Bourke and Lar Corbett unavailable due to their All-Ireland club commitments, vacancies have arisen in the team.

Donagh Maher, Seamus Hennessy, James Woodlock, Johnny Ryan, Eoin Kelly and John O’Neill are amongst those given the chance to impress.

TIPPERARY SH: 1. Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange); 2. Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty), 3. Paul Curran (Mullinahone), 4. Donagh Maher (Burgess); 5. Joey McLoughney (Toomevara), 6. Conor O’Mahony (Newport), 7. Seamus Hennessy (Kilruane McDonagh’s); 8. James Woodlock (Drom-Inch), 9. Johnny Ryan (Drom-Inch); 10. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule), 11. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), 12. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha); 13. Brian O’Meara (Kilruane McDonagh’s), 14. Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone), 15. John O’Neill (Clonoulty-Rossmore).

Tipperary’s opponents Limerick have made two changes for the game from the team that defeated Mary Immaculate College in last week’s first round game.

The suspended David Breen is replaced by Seamus Hickey, a recognized defender who is interestingly placed at centre-forward here. Mikey Ryan comes into the full-forward line for Kevin Downes.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

The game will be a prelude to the two sides Munster championship meeting on June 9th. Between the two sides there are 17 survivors from the starting line-ups that contested last May’s Munster championship tie which Tipperary triumphed in by 2-20 to 1-19.

LIMERICK SH: 1. Nicky Quaid (Effin); 2. Tom Condon (Knockaderry), 3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), 4. Shane O’Neill (South Liberties); 5. Wayne McNamara (Adare), 6. Donal O’Grady (Granagh-Ballingarry), 7. Gavin O’Mahony (Kilmallock); 8. Cathal King (Na Piarsaigh), 9. James Ryan (Garryspillane); 10. Conor Allis (Croom), 11. Seamus Hickey (Murroe-Boher), 12. Niall Moran (Ahane); 13. Mikey Ryan (Murroe-Boher), 14. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), 15. Seanie Tobin (Murroe-Boher).

Tipperary have made three changes for their McGrath Cup final clash with Kerry tomorrow in Sean Treacy Park in Tipperary Town.

From the team that defeated Waterford in last Sunday’s semi-final, Brian Fox and Ciaran McDonald come in to fill the half-back positions while Lorcan Egan will start at midfield. John O’Callaghan, Alan Campbell and Aldo Matassa are the trio to make way.

TIPPERARY SF: 1. Paul Fitzgerald (Fethard); 2. Andrew Morrissey (Galtee Rovers), 3. Paddy Codd (Killenaule), 4. John Coghlan (Moyne-Templetuohy); 5. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty), 6. Seamus Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials), 7. Ciaran McDonald (Aherlow); 8. George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers), 9. Lorcan Egan (JK Brackens); 10. Steven O’Brien (Ballina), 11. Phillip Quirke (Moyle Rovers), 12. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash); 13. Liam McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), 14. Barry Grogan (Aherlow), 15. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen).

Kieran McGeeney has made just one change from his team that defeated Offaly last weekend for tomorrow’s O’Byrne Cup final against Dublin.

Peter Kelly comes back into the team in replace of Eoghan O’Flaherty.

KILDARE SF: 1. Shane Connolly (St Laurence’s); 2. Ollie Lyons (Celbridge), 3. Michael Foley (Athy), 4. Hugh McGrillen (Celbridge); 5. Emmet Bolton (Eadestown), 6. Mikey Conway (Nurney), 7. Peter Kelly (Two Mile House); 8. Gary White (Sarsfields), 9. Padraig O’Neill (St Laurence’s); 10. Brian Flanagan (Johnstownbridge), 11. Cathal McNally (Johnstownbridge), 12. Morgan O’Flaherty (Carbury); 13. Sean Johnston (St Kevin’s), 14. Tomás O’Connor (Clane), 15. Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge).

The Monaghan team to face Tyrone in the McKenna Cup final tomorrow evening shows five changes from the side that overturned Down last week.

Fintan Kelly and Dessie Mone come in to replace the injured pair Drew Wylie and Owen Coyle.

Elsewhere, Martin McElroy replaces Karl O’Connell at wing back while in the half forward line Neil McAdam and Padraig Donaghy make way for Paul Finlay and Shane McQuillan.

MONAGHAN SF: 1.Mark Keogh (Sean MacDiarmada); 2. Ronan McNally (Tyholland), 3. Fintan Kelly (Clones), 4. Kieran Duffy (Latton); 5. Dessie Mone (Clontibret), 6. Darren Hughes (Scotstown), 7. Martin McElroy (Castleblayney Faughs); 8. Dick Clerkin (Currin), 9. Owen Lennon (Latton); 10. Owen Duffy (Latton), 11. Paul Finlay (Ballybay), 12. Shane McQuillan (Ballybay); 13. Kieran Hughes (Scotstown), 14. Conor McManus (Clontibret), 15. Dermot Malone (Castleblayney Faughs).

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: