This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 18 November, 2018

McBrearty fires Jordanstown into Cup Sigerson semi-final against DCU or IT Carlow

A five-point win for Jordanstown today against St Mary’s.

University of Ulster Jordanstown 0-14
St Mary’s 1-6

Orla Bannon reports from Belfast

DONEGAL STAR PADDY McBrearty kicked five points to steer Sigerson Cup hosts UUJ into the semi-finals of the competition today.

Ryan McNulty shoots past UUJ goalkeeper Sean Fox to score a goal St. Mary's Ryan McNulty (No. 24) shoots past UUJ goalkeeper Sean Fox for the only goal of the game. Source: Presseye/Brian Little/INPHO

The home side led from start to finish against their Belfast rivals at Jordanstown, but had to survive a strong second half from St Mary’s with Down forward Jerome Johnston kicking 1-2 from play when brought on at half time.

A star-studded UUJ were 0-7 to 0-2 ahead at half time, but St Mary’s closed to within two points when Down All Star Kevin McKernan scored in the 46th minute.

Four Tyrone players Ronan McNamee, Conan Grugan, Frank Burns and Richie Donnelly all scored from play against against the wind in the second half to book UUJ’s place at next weekend’s semi-finals.

Jordanstown had a great start with Monaghan star Kieran Hughes putting them 0-4 to 0-0 ahead with the first point of the game from play in the seventh minute.

Evin Regan and Patrick McAleer and Colm Byrne Mayo's Evan Regan tries to evade the St Mary's defence Source: Presseye/Brian Little/INPHO
Tyrone forward Ronan O’Neill hit two first-half frees, but UUJ were well in control.

Burns scored at the start of the second half to stretch Jordanstown’s lead out to six points before Johnston hit 1-1 in a couple of minutes.

He scored St Mary’s first point from play in the 36th minute and then landed the game’s only goal in the 45th minute, running with the ball from deep and jinking inside to blast the ball high into the roof of the net.

Monaghan’s Ryan McAnespie scored straight from the kickout to steady the home side but McKernan’s point reduced their deficit to 0-9 to 1-4 after 46 minutes.

Source: HE GAA/YouTube

Conan Grugan got the end of a well-worked move to score from close range for UUJ and McBrearty scored a superb point, his only one from play, catching a high ball and turning smartly onto his left to score from 40m into the wind.

Johnston scored again and with time running out, McKernan forced a great save from UUJ ‘keeper Sean Fox who dived low to his right to beat away his goal-bound effort in the last few minutes.

Scorers for UUJ: Patrick McBrearty 0-5 (0-4f), Richard Donnelly, Frank Burns 0-2 each, Ronan McNamee, Conan Grugan, Kieran Hughes, Ryan McAnespie, Ethan Rafferty 0-1 (0-1 ’45) 0-1 each

Scorers for St Mary’s: Jerome Johnston 1-2, Kevin McKernan, Ronan O’Neill (0-2f) 0-2 each.

UUJ players take to the field for the second half UUJ players take to the field for the second-half. Source: Presseye/Brian Little/INPHO


Sean Fox (Killyclogher, Tyrone)

Ricky Johnston (Creggan, Antrim)
Ronan McNamee (Aghayaran, Tyrone)
Killian Clarke (Shercock, Cavan)

Ryan McHugh (Kilcar, Donegal)
Frank Burns (Pomeroy, Tyrone)
Stephen Sheridan (Forkhill, Armagh)

Niall McKeever (Portglenone, Antrim)
Michael Argue (Baileborough, Cavan)

Conan Grugan (Omagh, Tyrone)
Ethan Rafferty (Grange, Armagh)
Ryan McAnespie (Emyvale, Monaghan)

Patrick McBrearty (Kilcar, Donegal)
Kieran Hughes (Scotstown, Monaghan)
Evan Regan (Ballina, Mayo)

Richard Donnelly (Trillick, Tyrone) for Rafferty (15)
Martin Johnston (Creggan, Antrim) for McKeever (BC, 23)
Danny Savage (Bryansford, Down) for Argue (52)
Shane Heavron (Magherafelt, Derry) for Regan (55)
Gareth McKinless (Ballinderry, Derry) for Burns (BC, 59)

St Mary’s

Rory Burns (Castlewellan, Down)

Aaron McKay (Dromintee, Armagh)
Danny McBride (Strabane, Tyrone)
Patrick McAleer (All Saints Ballymena, Antrim)

Harry Loughran (Moy, Tyrone)
Niall McParland (Glen, Down)
Colm Byrne (Eglish, Tyrone)

Peter Carragher (Silverbridge, Armagh)
Kevin McKernan (Burren, Down)

Aidan Nugent (Cullyhanna, Armagh)
Kieran McGeary (Pomeroy, Tyrone)
Conor Meyler (Omagh, Tyrone)

Patrick McBride (St John’s, Antrim)
Matthew Fitzpatrick (St John’s, Antrim)
Ronan O’Neill (Omagh, Tyrone)

Conall McCann (Killyclogher, Tyrone) for Nugent (20)
Jerome Johnston (Kilcoo, Down) for Fitzpatrick (HT)
Ryan Johnston (Kilcoo, Down) for McKay (BC, 35)
Niall Toner (Lavey, Derry) for Byrne (42)
Darragh Cavanagh (Augher, Tyrone) for O’Neill (52)

Referee: Barry Cassidy (Derry)

4 Tipperary players set to miss opening hurling league ties with Dublin and Kilkenny

Floodlight trouble in Navan sees Dublin get home advantage for Leinster U21 clash

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Orla Bannon

Read next: