Kerry crowned Munster minor football champions with four-point win over Cork

The counties clashed in today’s curtain-raiser at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Kerry 2-17
Cork 2-13

KERRY CLAIMED GLORY in today’s Electric Ireland Munster minor football final in Páirc Uí Chaoimh with a four-point win over Cork.

Jack O’Connor’s charges closed out the game strongly with late points from substitutes Stephen O’Sullivan and Liam Carey along with a seventh point of the day from Killian Spillane sealing their success.

Kerry were in front by 1-9 to 1-6 at the interval after getting an early boost when Tomás Ó Sé cut through the Cork rearguard for a goal. Cork stayed in touch thanks to the impressive Gary Murphy and a fine goal by Seamus Ronayne.

The teams traded points during the second-half but it looked like Kerry had struck a significant blow when Jordan Kiely deftly finished to the net with ten minutes left to send them 2-13 to 1-9 clear.

But Cork mounted a brave recovery from that seven-point deficit. They were still trailing by five points with five minutes left when Murphy fired a rebound to the net after Michael Hurley’s penalty was saved by goalkeeper Shane Ryan.

Hurley lofted over a terrific point soon after to cut the gap to the minimum yet Kerry closed out the match in style with a series of points.

Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Scorers for Kerry: Killian Spillane 0-7 (0-6f), Jordan Kiely 1-1, Tomás Ó Sé 1-0, Brian Rayle, Liam Carey 0-2 each, Stephen O’Sullivan, Cormac Coffey, Matthew Flaherty, Micheál Burns 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Gary Murphy 1-5 (0-3f), Sean O’Donoghue 0-3 (0-2f), Seamus Ronayne 1-0, Michael Hurley 0-2, Michael Desmond (0-1f), Daniel Dineen (0-1f), Shane Kingston 0-1 each.

1. Shane Ryan (Rathmore)
2. Brian Sugrue (Renard)
3. Brian Begley (An Ghaeltacht)
4. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)
5. Mark O’Connor (Dingle)
6. Dan Donoghue (Spa)
7. Cormac Coffey (Kerins O’Rahillys)
8. Barry O’Sullivan (Dingle)
9. Liam Kearney (Spa)
10. Matthew Flaherty (Dingle)
11. Brian Rayle (Lispole)
12. Micheál Burns (Dr. Crokes)
13. Jordan Kiely (Dr. Crokes)
14. Killian Spillane (Templenoe)
15. Tomás Ó’Sé (An Ghaeltacht)

20. Liam Carey (Beaufort) for Rayle (45)
18. Stephen O’Sullivan (Templenoe) for Tom O’Sullivan (55)
24. Robert Wharton (Renard) for O’Connor (57)

1. Colm O’Driscoll (Castlehaven)
2. Tom Bushe (Ilen Rovers)
3. Kevin Flahive (Douglas – Captain)
4. Sean Powter (Douglas)
5. John Mullins (Eire Og)
6. Cian O’Donovan (Clonakilty)
7. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)
8. Sean O’Leary (Bantry Blues)
9. Micheál O Deasúna (Cill Na Martra)
10. Seamus Ronayne (Clyda Rovers)
11. Daniel O Duinnín (Cill Na Martra)
12. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
13. Shane Kingston (Douglas)
14. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)
15. Gary Murphy (Castletownbere)

20. Damien Buckley (Ballyclough) for Ronayne (40)
21. Evan Ryle (Carrigaline) for O’Leary (46)
17. Alex Hassett (Ilen Rovers) for Desmond (50)

Referee: Richard Moloney (Limerick)

As It Happened: Cork v Kerry, Munster minor football final

LIVE: Cork v Kerry, Munster senior football final

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: