Dublin: 15°C Wednesday 27 October 2021

2 changes for history-makers Sligo ahead of All-Ireland minor football quarter-final

The beaten Connacht finalists meet All-Ireland champions Kerry on Monday.

Sligo boss Aidan Rooney has shuffled his pack.
Sligo boss Aidan Rooney has shuffled his pack.
Image: Mike Shaughnessy/INPHO

SLIGO HAVE MADE two changes to the team defeated by Galway in the Connacht minor football final replay for Monday’s Electric Ireland All-Ireland quarter-final against champions Kerry.

Kevin Banks comes in for Cathal Herron and fit-again Brian Mahon replaces Oisin Gilmartin in the Yeats County line-up.

This is the first time that a Sligo minor team has progressed to the All-Ireland quarter-finals but they have their work cut out against a slick Kerry outfit.

Kingdom boss Jack O’Connor has shuffled his pack by making three changes in personnel. 

John Mark Foley is named at midfield, Brandon Barrett is selected at wing-forward and Bryan Sweeney gets the nod at full-forward.

Captain Mark O’Connor has been ruled out through injury at midfield while a cruciate injury has ruled out centre-forward Cormac Linnane. Michael Foley drops to the bench.

Throw-in at O’Connor Park in Tullamore is at 2pm.


1. Conor McGovern (Calry/St Joseph’s)

2. Brian Mahon (Owenmore Gaels)
3. Eddie McGuinness (Tubbercurry)
4. Mark O’Dowd (Enniscrone/Kilglass)

5. Nathan Mullen (Coolaney/Mullinabreena)
6. Darragh Cummins (Calry/St Joseph’s)
7. Michael Gordon (Easkey)

8. Kevin Banks (Coolera/Strandhill)
9. Paul Kilcoyne (St Mary’s)

10. Liam Gaughan (Tourlestrane)
11. Patrick O’Connor (St Farnan’s)
12. Finnian Cawley (St Farnan’s)

13. Kyle Cawley (St Mary’s)
14. Nathan Rooney (St Mary’s)
15. Sean Power (Drumcliffe/Rosses Point)


1. Billy Courtney (Dr. Crokes)

2. Darren Brosnan (Gneeveguilla)
3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)
4. Jack Morgan (Austin Stacks)

5. Gavin White (Dr Crokes)
6. Mike Breen (Beaufort)
7. Daniel O’Brien (Glenflesk)

8. Andrew Barry (Na Gaeil)
9. John Mark Foley (Kilgarvan)

10. Brandon Barrett (Ardfert)
11. Brian Ó Seanacháin (Ballydonoghue)
12. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare)

13. Stephen O’Sullivan (Templenoe)
14. Bryan Sweeney (Listowel Emmetts)
15. Conor Geaney (Dingle)

16. Eoghan O’Brien (Churchill)
17. Michael Foley (Spa)
18. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)
19. Dara O’Shea (Kenmare)
20. Ronan Buckley (Listry)
21. Graham O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses)
22. Evan Cronin (Spa)
23. Jack Goulding (Ballyduff)
24. James Duggan (John Mitchels)

Additional Players on the Kerry Minor Panel
David Shaw (Dr Crokes)
Niall Collins (Listowel Emmets)
Sean Bambury (An Ghaeltacht)
Michael Reidy (Ballymacelligott)
Ferdia O’Brien (Austin Stacks)
Karl Mullins (Kerins O’Rahillys)

Injured Players
Mark O’Connor (Dingle)
Cormac Linnane (Beale)

Here’s the Sligo team looking to bounce back from Connacht final mauling

Here’s the Kildare team aiming to shock Kerry at Croke Park on Sunday


About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: