Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 5°C Wednesday 3 March 2021

Colm Cooper returns as Eamonn Fitzmaurice names the team he hopes can take Dublin down

The Gooch will make his 85th championship appearance on Sunday.

Cooper has returned from injury to start.
Cooper has returned from injury to start.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

KERRY MANAGER EAMONN Fitzmaurice has this evening named his team for the All-Ireland semi-final clash with Dublin.

His side shows just the one change in personnel from the one that coasted past Clare in the quarter-final, with the fit again Colm Cooper coming in for Darran O’Sullivan.

Captain Bryan Sheehan has to settle for a place on the bench.

Michael Geaney and Johnny Buckley also return to the fold and take their place on the bench for the much-anticipated renewal of football’s great rivalry.

Cooper missed last month’s win over Clare after damaging his collarbone in the Munster final but the Dr Crokes man has shaken off the problem to start Sunday’s sold-out showdown.

It will be his 85th championship game, putting him just three behind Tomás and Marc Ó Sé in Kerry’s all-time appearance list.

Kerry have lost their last three championship games against Jim Gavin’s Dublin, who are two games away from lifting the Sam Maguire for a third time in four years.

Throw-in at Croke Park is at 4pm.

Kerry (v Dublin):

1. Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)

2. Shane Enright (Tarbert)
3. Mark Griffin (St Michaels/Foilmore)
4. Killian Young (C) (Renard)

5. Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)
6. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)
7. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)

8. Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)
9. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys)

10. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)
11. Colm Cooper (Dr Crokes)
12. Donnchadh Walsh (Cromane)

13. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare)
14. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
15. James O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion)


16. Brendan Kealy (Kilcummin)
17. Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh-Glencar)
18. Bryan Sheehan (St Marys)
19. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys)
20. Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht)
21. Jonathan Lyne (Killarney Legion)
22. Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes)
23. Anthony Maher (Duagh)
24. Aidan O’Mahony (Rathmore)
25. Michael Geaney (Dingle)
26. Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes)


The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Kerry name team for All-Ireland minor football semi-final showdown with Kildare

Cork All-Ireland winners Ó hAilpín and Kenny take first step into hurling management

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next: