Dublin's Liam Rushe bursts out of the Kilkenny defence. Ryan Byrne/INPHO
Cats In Control

Kilkenny's second-half class powers them past Dublin in Leinster hurling semi-final

Newcomer Jonjo Farrell struck 1-5 for Kilkenny.

Kilkenny 1-25
Dublin 0-16

KILKENNY LINED OUT for the first time in the 2016 hurling championship tonight and demonstrated in O’Moore Park exactly why they are bidding for a three-in-a-row of Liam MacCarthy Cup triumphs.

Brian Cody’s side unleashed a second-half onslaught that blew Dublin away in this Leinster semi-final clash and propelled them into a provincial final place on 3 July.

They were pushed all the way in the first-half by Dublin in Portlaoise and were in front 0-12 to 0-11 at the break. But Kilkenny were in outstanding form in the second-half as they outscored Dublin by 1-13 to 0-5.

Between the 35th and 50th minutes, Kilkenny hit 1-8 without reply and essentially put the game to bed in that time frame. Newcomer Jonjo Farrell bagged the only goal of the game in the 48th minute and he struck 1-5 overall while 2015 Hurler of the Year TJ Reid shot 0-10.

David Treacy struck 0-11 for Dublin as he illustrated his reliability from placed balls while David O’Callaghan chipped in with 0-2. But ultimately Dublin struggled to make headway against a resolute Kilkenny rearguard.

Both sides made changes beforehand with Mark Schutte dropping out for Dublin as Ryan O’Dwyer was brought in while Kilkenny introduced Robert Lennon for Jackie Tyrrell. Reid and Treacy traded 0-3 apiece in the opening eight minutes before Kilkenny upped the ante to go 0-6 to 0-3 clear by the 12th minute.

Ger Cunningham and Brian Cody Dublin boss Ger Cunningham with Kilkenny counterpart Brian Cody after the game Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

Dublin hung in contention in a determined fashion. O’Callaghan won a 21st minute free that Treacy popped over to leave them 0-8 to 0-7 adrift. Kilkenny accelerated clear once more to be ahead 0-12 to 0-8 but then Dublin struck the last three points of the half courtesy of Daire Plunkett, Eamonn Dillon and Treacy.

The stage may have been set for a rip roaring second-half but Kilkenny emerged after the break to dominate proceedings. Their third quarter showing saw them move into an unassailable lead and their thoughts drifted to a final against Galway or Offaly long before the final whistle.

Eoghan O'Donnell and Jonjo Farrell Dublin's Eoghan O'Donnell and Kilkenny's Jonjo Farrell Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

Scorers for Kilkenny: TJ Reid 0-10 (0-7f, 0-1 ’65), Jonjo Farrell 1-5, Michael Fennelly, Walter Walsh, Cillian Buckley 0-2 each, Lester Ryan, Conor Fogarty, Padraig Walsh, Colin Fennelly 0-1 each,

Scorers for Dublin: David Treacy 0-11 (0-10f), David O’Callaghan 0-2, Paul Ryan, Daire Plunkett, Eamonn Dillon 0-1 each.

TJ Reid TJ Reid surrounded by Kilkenny fans after the game Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
3. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
17. Robert Lennon (Bennettsbridge)

5. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
6. Kieran Joyce (Rower Inistioge)
7. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)

8. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own)
9. Lester Ryan (Clara)

10. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)
11. Michael Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
12. T J Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

13. Jonjo Farrell (Thomastown)
14. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
15. Eoin Larkin (James Stephens)


24. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge) for Larkin (51)
21. Kevin Kelly (St Patrick’s) for Ryan (61)
18. Diarmuid Cody (James Stephens) for Michael Fennelly (65)


1. Conor Dooley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

2. Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
3. Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala)
4. Oisin Gough (Cuala)

5. Shane Barrett (Na Fianna)
6. Liam Rushe (St Pat’s Palmerstown)
7. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)

8. Darragh O’Connell (Cuala)
9. Johnny McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields)

10. Daire Plunkett (St Bridget’s)
11. Niall McMorrow (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
12. David Treacy (Cuala)

22. Ryan O’Dwyer (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. David O’Callaghan (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
15. Eamonn Dillon (Naomh Fionnbarra)


21. Paul Ryan (Ballyboden St-Enda’s) for O’Dwyer (half-time)
25. Oisin O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes) for McMorrow (46)
17. Niall Corcoran (Kilmacud Crokes) for Gough (50)
23. Sean Treacy (Cuala) for Barrett (58)
24. Chris Bennett (Faughs) for O’Callaghan (70)

Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Tributes pour in after Cork All-Ireland winner John Horgan passes away

‘I didn’t want that to be my last involvement with Cork, it was a very degrading, humiliating defeat’

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.