This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Sunday 9 December, 2018

Kilkenny's top-flight place in danger after Tipp thumping in Semple Stadium

St Patrick’s Day can’t come quickly enough for Brian Cody’s men.

Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Tipperary 2-22

Kilkenny 1-13

Jackie Cahill reports from Semple Stadium

BRIAN CODY’S KILKENNY will contest a relegation playoff following this afternoon’s 12-point thumping against Tipperary at Semple Stadium.

Defeat at Semple Stadium and Cork’s victory over Galway mean that the Cats must fight it out for Division 1A status in 2016.

And next weekend’s final group clash with Clare could well turn out to be a dress rehearsal ahead of a winner-takes-all relegation clash.

Kilkenny were beaten for a third successive game this afternoon as goals in either half from Seamus Callanan and Niall O’Meara made it three wins on the spin for Tipp.

This was Tipp’s first victory over Kilkenny since a League victory two years ago – and just their second in the last 12 League and championship outings against their ancient rivals.

And it’s the first time that Kilkenny have suffered three successive defeats in competitive games under Cody’s watch.

Tipp had nine players on the scoresheet and by half-time, the hosts were seven points clear – 1-16 to 1-9.

It was a gripping first half in front of 10,421 spectators, with the sides sharing 27 scores between them before the interval.

The scoring rate dropped substantially in the second half, as Hogan saw his 42nd minute penalty saved on the line by Brendan Maher, and with Tipp in cruise control, the closing stages were played at almost challenge match pace.

But right from the start, there had been a championship feel to proceedings as both sides went at it.

Kilkenny would ultimately suffer from the absence of key names but Hurler of the Year Richie Hogan was on his game, shooting all of Kilkenny’s first half points.

Hogan’s influence on proceedings was far less dramatic in the second half as Tipp plugged the spaces in which Hogan had excelled before half-time.

And when Callanan set up O’Meara for a 54th minute goal, Tipp were eleven points clear, 2-18 to 1-10.

Tipp were 13 points ahead before the final whistle and won pulling up with 12 to spare in front of a triumphant home crowd.

Callanan’s fourth minute goal set Tipp on the road to victory – after Jonjo Farrell had netted after just 16 seconds for Kilkenny.

Scorers for Tipperary: Seamus Callanan 1-7 (0-3f, 0-1 65), Niall O’Meara 1-2, John O’Dwyer 0-4, Noel McGrath 0-3, Michael Breen 0-2, Pádraic Maher, James Woodlock, Jason Forde & Shane Bourke 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Richie Hogan 0-10 (6f), Jonjo Farrell 1-1, Mark Kelly & John Power (65) 0-1 each.


1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

19. Paul Curran (Mullinahone)
3. Conor O’Mahony (Newport)
2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)

5. Michael Breen (Ballina)
6. Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

8. Kieran Bergin (Killenaule)
9. James Woodlock (Drom & Inch)

10. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
11. Brendan Maher (Borrisoleigh)
12. Jason Forde (Silvermines)

13.Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
14. Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)
24. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs)


4. Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty) for Curran (inj, 29)
23. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch) for Forde (51)
15. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney) for O’Meara (59)
17. Shane Bourke (JK Brackens) for N McGrath (62)
16. Darragh Egan (Kildangan) for Gleeson (65).


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Shane Prendergast (Clara)
3. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
4. Jackie Tyrrell (James Stephens)

8. Brian Kennedy (St Lachtain’s)
6. Kieran Joyce (Rower-Instioge)
7. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)

22. Mark Kelly (O’Loughlin Gaels)
9. Lester Ryan (Clara)

10. Walter Walsh (Tullogher-Rosbercon)
11. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)
12. Matthew Ruth (James Stephens)

13. Jonjo Farrell (Thomastown)
14. John Power (Carrickshock)
15. Ger Aylward (Glenmore)


23. Kevin Kelly (St Patrick’s) for Aylward (h.t.)
18. Joe Lyng (Rower-Instioge) for Ryan (48)

Referee: James McGrath (Westmeath)

Waterford thrash Antrim by 32 points as Wexford hit five goals in win over Laois

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: