Dublin: 9°C Monday 25 October 2021

Cork star Briege Corkery named Ladies football Players' Player of the Year

Cork were the big winners at Saturday’s awards dinner.

It was a memorable year for Corkery.
It was a memorable year for Corkery.
Image: Ladies Football/Twitter

BRIEGE CORKERY HAS been named the TG4 Ladies football Players’ Player of the Year for the second time.

After winning the award in 2012, she becomes the first player to win it twice.

The Cork midfielder enjoyed another peerless season as she spearheaded Cork’s All-Ireland triumph and collected the accolade at last night’s awards dinner.

It caps a remarkable season for the dual star after she was named in the Camogie Allstar team for 2015 last week.

She is one of six Cork players included in the football selection with 19-year-old Marie Ambrose earning her first Allstar alongside multi-award winners Geraldine O’Flynn, Vera Foley, Rena Buckley and Valerie Mulcahy.

Beaten All-Ireland finalists, Dublin, were also well represented with four award winners while Mayo legend Cora Staunton won her 10th Allstar to move top of the all-time list with Kerry’s Mary Jo Curran.

Allstar team 2015:

1.       Linda Martin (Monaghan)

2.       Marie Ambrose (Cork)
3.       Aislinn Desmond (Kerry)
4.       Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork)

5.       Vera Foley (Cork)
6.       Sinead Finnegan (Dublin)
7.       Sinead Goldrick (Dublin)

8.       Rena Buckley (Cork)
9.       Briege Corkery (Cork)

10.  Cora Courtney (Monaghan)
11.   Cora Staunton (Mayo)
12.   Carla Rowe (Dublin)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

13.   Valerie Mulcahy (Cork)
14.   Lyndsey Davey (Dublin)
15.   Aimee Mackin (Armagh)

TG4 Junior Player’s Player of the Year: Kate Flood (Louth)

TG4 Intermediate Player’s Player of the Year: Aileen Wall (Waterford)

TG4 Senior Player’s Player of the Year: Briege Corkery (Cork)

2015 LGFA Hall of Fame Winner: Abby Brady (Mullahoran LGFA and Cavan LGFA)

Ulster Young Player of the Year: Róisín Devlin (Tyrone)

Munster Young Player of the Year: Fay O’Donoghue (Kerry)

Leinster Young Player of the Year: Emily Coakley (Wexford)

Connacht Young Player of the Year: Maria Reilly (Mayo)

Remarkable scoreline sees Maurice Fitzgerald’s side book Munster final spot

Another long-serving Tipperary hurler has called it a day

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next: