Saturday 28 January 2023 Dublin: 5°C
# laureus
Ronaldo, Murray and Bolt included on six-man shortlist for coveted world sport award
LeBron James, Steph Curry and Mo Farah have also been nominated for the men’s gong.

CRISTIANO RONALDO HAS been named among the nominees for the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year.

The Real Madrid star enjoyed a stellar 12 months, winning the Champions League and Euro 2016.

His form saw him awarded the Ballon d’Or and Fifa’s ‘The Best’ award, and he is now up for another prestigious prize.

The award — which is voted for by the world’s media — pits the Portuguese up against basketball stars Steph Curry and LeBron James, athletes Usain Bolt and Mo Farah, and Wimbledon champion Andy Murray.

Ronaldo would become the first footballer to win the award since its inception in 2000, having previously been nominated on three occasions.

Both of Ronaldo’s teams — Real Madrid and Portugal — have also been nominated for the World Team of the Year prize where they will take on Olympic soccer champions Brazil.

Other footballing nominees come in the World Breakthrough of the Year category, where Premier League winners Leicester City and the Iceland national team figure.

Among the nominees for the World Sportswoman of the Year award are remarkable US gymnast Simone Biles, Team GB track cycling star Laura Kenny and tennis world number one Angelique Kerber.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

The winners of the awards will be announced on 14 February in Monaco.

World Sportsman of the Year

  • Usain Bolt
  • Stephen Curry
  • Mo Farah
  • LeBron James
  • Andy Murray
  • Cristiano Ronaldo

World Sportswoman of the Year

  • Simone Biles
  • Allyson Felix
  • Angelique Kerber
  • Katie Ledecky
  • Elaine Thompson
  • Laura Kenny

World Comeback of the Year

  • Ruth Beitia
  • Michael Phelps
  • Juan Martin del Potro
  • Fabienne St Louis
  • Nick Skelton
  • Aksel Lund Svindal

World Team of the Year

  • Brazil men’s Olympic football team
  • Cleveland Cavaliers
  • Chicago Cubs
  • Mercedes AMG Petronas
  • Portugal men’s football team
  • Real Madrid

World Breakthrough of the Year

  • Almaz Ayana
  • Fiji men’s rugby sevens
  • Iceland men’s football team
  • Leicester City
  • Nico Rosberg
  • Wayde van Niekerk

World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability

  • Ihar Boki
  • Sophie Pascoe
  • Omara Durand
  • Siamand Rahman
  • Marcel Hug
  • Beatrice Vio

Action Sportsperson of the Year

  • Rachel Atherton
  • Pedro Barros
  • John John Florence
  • Chloe Kim
  • Kelly Sildaru
  • Tyler Wright

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

James Milner the second-best performing full-back in Europe – study

‘Real sickener’ as Cheltenham Gold Cup champ Don Cossack retired