Dublin: 10°C Friday 22 October 2021

Limerick hurlers hand out 3 championship debuts for Munster clash with Clare

The sides clash in Thurles on Sunday.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

LIMERICK HAVE NAMED their team to start against Clare in Sunday’s Munster senior hurling quarter-final in Thurles.

Barry Hennessy, Seanie O’Brien and Cian Lynch are all handed championship debuts.

Manager TJ Ryan has given Hennessy his chance in goal in light of the vacancy created by Nicky Quaid’s absence through injury.

O’Brien, who has caught the eye for Limerick IT in the Fitzgibbon Cup, is named at left half-back and his Patrickswell club mate Cian Lynch, the captain of last year’s Limerick minor team that qualified for the All-Ireland final will start at corner-forward.


1. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)

2. Stephen Walsh (Glenroe)
3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
4. Seamus Hickey (Murroe-Boher)

5. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
6. Gavin O’Mahony (Kilmallock)
7. Seanie O’Brien (Patrickswell)

8. Paudie O’Brien (Kilmallock)
9. James Ryan (Garryspillane)

10. Paul Browne (Bruff)
11. Declan Hannon (Adare)
12. Donal O’Grady (Granagh-Ballingarry)

13. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
14. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)
15. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)

3 Monaghan changes for Ulster battle with Cavan from team who ran Dublin close

The ex-Dublin player now making his football mark with Clare

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: