This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 23 March, 2019

5 changes to Limerick team ahead of Munster league final against Clare

The sides clash in the Gaelic Grounds tomorrow afternoon.

LIMERICK HAVE MADE five changes as they aim to land some pre-season hurling silverware tomorrow against Clare in the Gaelic Grounds.

Nicky Quaid Nickie Quaid returns to the Limerick starting team. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Manager John Kiely has shaken up his starting side for the clash with the Banner in the Co-Op Superstores Munster hurling league final.

Nickie Quaid will start in goal with the experienced Seamus Hickey in front of him at full-back. The Morrissey brothers, Dan and Tom, are named at centre-back and wing-forward respectively with Gearoid Hegarty coming in at corner-forward.

Barry Hennessy, Darragh Fanning, Andrew La Touche Cosgrave and Barry Murphy drop to the bench while Declan Hannon is out injured.

Clare have delayed announcing their team until before throw-in tomorrow afternoon.


1. Nickie Quaid (Effin)

2. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
3. Seamus Hickey (Murroe-Boher)
4. Richie English (Doon)

5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
6. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
7. William O’Meara (Askeaton)

8. Paul Browne (Bruff)
9. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

10. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
11. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)
12. Barry Nash (South Liberties)

13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickwell)
14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh)
15. Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s)


16. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)
17. Sean Finn (Bruff)
18. Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock)
19. Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
20. Barry Murphy (Doon)
21. Darragh Fanning (Pallasgreen)
22. David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca)
23. Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock)
24. Pat Ryan (Doon)
25. Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen)
26. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)
27. Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen)
28. Mike Mackey (Adare)

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Dramatic finish in Castlebar sees 12-man Galway edge Mayo for second win of 2018

Cork ring in the changes for McGrath Cup final with the Banner

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel