Limerick cut 7 players from panel ahead of hurling championship campaign

John Kiely unveils his panel before the Munster semi-final against Clare.

The Limerick hurling panel before their league semi-final against Galway.
The Limerick hurling panel before their league semi-final against Galway.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

LIMERICK HURLING BOSS John Kiely has cut seven players after their league campaign as he has unveiled his 31-man panel for this summer’s championship.

Kiely has whittled down his squad after their league semi-final loss to Galway on 16 April as they gear up for their Munster last four clash with Clare on 4 June.

John Fitzgibbon, Seanie Tobin, Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, Kevin Downes, Seanie and Kevin O’Brien, and David McCarthy have all been omitted as the championship preparations intensify.

Fitzgibbon was the only one of that group to see game time in the semi-final defeat to Galway in the Gaelic Grounds, coming on as a second-half substitute. Downes has been out of action since tearing his cruciate in a club football game last July and is still in the recovery process from that serious injury.

That duo both saw senior championship action for the Limerick hurlers last summer, while Seanie Tobin and Seanie O’Brien have both gained championship experience in recent seasons as well.

McCarthy and La Touche Cosgrave both featured in Limerick’s 2015 All-Ireland U21 hurling final win over Wexford.

It is understood that La Touche Cosgrave withdrew from the panel for personal reasons last weekend.

The squad will be captained by James Ryan with the Garryspillane man one of three players in this panel that were not included when Kiely named his original squad for the 2017 season last November.

2016 All-Ireland club winner William O’Donoghue forced his way into the reckoning during the league and scored a goal in the recent loss to Galway, starting at midfield.

Forward Aaron Gillane from Patrickswell was drafted in on the back of his brilliant displays in Mary Immaculate College’s Fitzgibbon Cup winning run.

Limerick Championship Panel

  1. Declan Hannon (Adare)
  2. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
  3. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
  4. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
  5. Paul Browne (Bruff)
  6. Sean Finn (Bruff)
  7. Richie English (Doon)
  8. Pat Ryan (Doon)
  9. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)
  10. Nicky Quaid (Effin)
  11. James Ryan (Garryspillane – captain)
  12. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
  13. Gavin O’Mahony (Kilmallock)
  14. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)
  15. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)
  16. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
  17. Seamus Hickey (Murroe/Boher)
  18. Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)
  19. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)
  20. Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh)
  21. Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
  22. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
  23. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)
  24. William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh)
  25. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)
  26. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
  27. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
  28. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
  29. Barry Nash (South Liberties)
  30. Gearóid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s)
  31. Stephen Cahill (Tournafulla)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

10 young players who caught the eye in the 2017 National Hurling League

Firing two goals and winning a first hurling medal with Galway in six years

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel