Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO Tipperary's Conor Hammersley and Limerick's Richie English.
the trip to tipp

Goals are key as Limerick triumph against Tipp in Munster intermediate semi-final

Limerick will face Clare in the decider on 6 July.

Limerick 2-11
Tipperary 0-15

Fintan O’Toole reports from Semple Stadium

GOALS FROM DAVID Dempsey and Pat Ryan propelled Limerick into the Munster intermediate hurling final today as they fashioned a two-point semi-final win over Tipperary in Thurles.

Victory sees Limerick advance to the final against Clare on 6 July with Leo O’Connor’s side doing enough to advance in this clash.

Tipperary failed to score in the last eight minutes of the game after drawing level with Doon club men Ryan and substitute Barry Murphy splitting the posts for the points that clinched glory for Limerick.

It was Limerick who started brightest with Dempsey bursting through to finish to the net in the 11th minute. They were in front 1-4 to 0-2 after the opening quarter with Aaron Gillane, Ryan, Kevin O’Brien and William O’Donoghue all raising white flags.

Gillane’s accuracy from frees pushed Limerick 1-6 to 0-3 in front by the 20th minute mark.

But Tipperary responded to hit the last four points of the first-half from Brian Stapleton, Brian Hogan and Aidan McCormack (2), as they trailed 1-6 to 0-7 at the interval.

Tipperary quickly drew level in the second-half courtesy of a brace of McCormack points before they were rattled by the concession of a second goal in the 36th minute when Limerick wing-forward Ryan found the net with a low drive.

The exchanges continued to be closely contested but with Gillane on target for Limerick, they surged 2-9 to 0-12 ahead by the 46th minute.

Tipperary bounced back again with white flags raised by Justin Cahill, Stapleton and McCormack drawing them level.

Yet in the finale it was Limerick who popped up with the key scores to seal victory.


Scorers for Limerick: Aaron Gillane 0-6 (0-5f), Pat Ryan 1-2, David Dempsey 1-0, William O’Donoghue, Kevin O’Brien, Barry Murphy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Aidan McCormack 0-5 (0-3f), Brian Stapleton 0-3, Stephen Quirke 0-2, Brian Hogan (0-1f), Justin Cahill, Tom Fox, Andrew Coffey, Mark Russell 0-1 each.


1. Eoghan McNamara (Doon)

2. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
3. Barry Lynch (Feohanagh)
4. Jody Hannon (Adare)

7. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)
6. Andrew La Touche-Cosgrave (Monaleen)
5. Mark Carmody (Patrickswell – captain)

8. William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh)
9. Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen)

10. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)
11. Mike Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh)
12. Pat Ryan (Doon)

13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
14. Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell)
15. Dean Coleman (Doon)


23. Sean Flanagan (Feohanagh) for Hannon (inj) (17)
18. Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh) for Coleman (half-time)
19. Barry Murphy (Doon) for Dempsey (36)
20. John Fox (Ahane) for Fitzgibbon (50)
22. Stephen Cahill (Tournafulla) for Carmody (60)


1. Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha)

2. Ger Fennelly (Ballingarry)
3. Jack Peters (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
4. Paul Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)

8. Andrew Coffey (Nenagh Éire Óg)
6. Tom Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty)
7. Sean Ryan (Sean Treacys)

5. Brian Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons)
11. Billy McCarthy (Thurles Sarsfields)

10. Jack Shelly (Mullinahone – capt.)
23. Aidan McCormack (Thurles Sarsfields)
15. Tommy Nolan (Drom-Inch)

12. Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers)
9. Willie Connors (Kildangan)
14. Mark Russell (Lattin-Cullen)


22. Conor Hammersley (Clonoulty-Rossmore) for Nolan (half-time)
19. Pa Ryan (Newport) for Connors (39)
18. Justin Cahill (Kilruane McDonaghs) for Shelly (46)
13. Tadhg Gallagher (Kildangan) for Stapleton (53)
24. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle) for Quirke (57)

Referee: Damian Fox (Clare)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

In like Flynn: Galway dump Mayo out of Connacht with shock win in Castlebar

Wexford, Cork, Offaly, Kilkenny and Galway make winning championship starts