Tuesday 31 January 2023 Dublin: 6°C
# Royal Roar
0-8 for Mitchell as Meath end 10-year for Leinster minor title glory with win over Kildare
A 1-15 to 1-7 victory for Meath in Tullamore this afternoon.

Meath 1-15
Kildare 1-7

Daragh Ó Conchúir reports from Tullamore

LUKE MITCHELL KICKED eight points as Meath won the Leinster MFC title in effortless fashion against Kildare at O’Connor Park today.

Meath players celebrate with the trophy Laszlo Geczo / INPHO Meath players celebrate their victory. Laszlo Geczo / INPHO / INPHO

Meath had the benefit the wind in the first half and made it count, leading 0-7 to 0-1 at the end of the opening quarter, with all the forwards having got on the scoresheet already.

It wasn’t that Kildare didn’t have their share of the ball but their use of it was poor and in stark contrast to their opponents, their front men were having no impact. Some credit for that should go to the Meath defence, in which James O’Hare excelled.

Kildare manager Padraig Carbury was moved to take off two of his forwards before half-time and used the interval to replace two defenders.

Mitchell kicked five points, including a brace from play, and David Bell a pair as the Royals established an 11-3 lead at the change of ends.

Lilywhite captain Alex Beirne did send over a towering score but like everything Kildare did in the opposition half, it was an individual effort rather than collective.

Meath players celebrate after the final whistle Laszlo Geczo / INPHO Meath players celebrate their victory. Laszlo Geczo / INPHO / INPHO

Carbury would have hoped for a quick start from his charges with the benefit of the breeze but instead, their hopes were shredded within eight minutes of the restart.

Kildare goalie John Ball, whose heroics had got his side over the line in the replayed semi-final against Wicklow, made an outstanding double save from Matthew Costello in the 37th minute and then another excellent stop from Darragh Swaine moments later.

But the Clane custodian could do nothing to deny Bryan McCormack a minute later, after Costello had found his colleague with a peach of a kick pass.

Bryan McCormack scores a goal despite Kevin Kelleher Laszlo Geczo / INPHO Bryan McCormack bagged a goal for Meath today. Laszlo Geczo / INPHO / INPHO

It was a stroll from there to the end, with the highlight being a spectacular triple save by Ball to deny Meath a second goal before Marcus Kiely struck for a Kildare consolation goal in the game’s final act.

Scorers for Meath: Luke Mitchell 0-8 (0-6f), Bryan McCormack 1-1, Matthew Costello, David Bell 0-2 each, Luke Kelly, Darragh Swaine 0-1 each

Scorers for Kildare: Marcus Kiely 1-1, Jack Smyth 0-2 (0-2f), Alex Berine, Sam Morrissey (0-1f), Padraig Behan, Muiris Curtin 0-1 each


1. Sean Brennan (Dunderry)

2. James O’Hare (Rathkenny)
3. Harry O’Higgins (Drumbarragh Emmett’s)
4. Cathal Hickey (Seneschalstown)

5. Conor Farrelly (Walterstown)
6. Conor Harford (St Vincent’s)
7. Sean Coffey (Ballinabrackey)

8. Adam Reilly (Moynalty)
9. Cian McBride (St Ultan’s)

10. Darragh Swaine (Clann na nGael)
11. Matthew Costello (Dunshaughlin)
12. Bryan McCormack (Moynalty)

13. David Bell (St Colmcille’s)
14. Luke Kelly (Na Fianna)
15. Luke Mitchell (Dunshaughlin)


18. Oisin McCloskey (Na Fianna) for Harford inj (46)
21. Colin Hawdon (Oldcastle) for McCormack (49)
22. Adam Treanor (Walterstown) for Swaine (55)
24. Brian O’Hanlon (Navan O’Mahony’s) for Bell (55)
17. Luke Newe (Ratoath) for Hickey (56)
20. Killian Hogan (Donaghmore-Ashbourne) for Reilly (60)


1. John Ball (Clane)

2. John Lynch (Clane)
3. Sean Hill (Kilcock)
4. Jack Hamill (Raheens)

5. Nick Jackman (Athy)
6. Kevin Kelleher (Ballymore Eustace)
7. Paddy McDermott (Naas)

8. Liam Broderick (Ballymore Eustace)
9. Marcus Kiely (Two Mile House)

10. Sam Morrissey (Naas)
11. Alex Beirne (Naas)
12. Michael McGovern (Raheens)

13. Eoghan O’Haire (Newtown Gaels)
14. Aaron Kennedy (St Laurence’s)
15. Jack Smyth (Carbury)


21. Padraig Behan (Kilcullen) for O’Haire (23)
23. Muiris Curtin (Rathangan) for Morrissey (28)
18. Daniel Caulfield (Sallins) for Jackman (half-time)
19. Oisin O’Loughlin (Rathangan) for Hill (half-time)
20. Drew Costello (Naas) for Beirne (38)
17. Sean Englishby (Leixlip) for McGovern (45)

Referee: Darragh Sheppard (Dublin)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel