Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 2°C Wednesday 14 April 2021

Castlebar Mitchels' defender and 2016 All-Ireland U21 winner among starters for Mayo

Castlebar hosts Saturday night’s tie.

Updated 21.30

STEPHEN ROCHFORD HAS named his side to face Monaghan in their league opener on Saturday, including two league starting debuts.

mayo Donie Newcombe and Fergal Boland.

Castlebar Mitchels’ Donie Newcombe starts at corner back, while 2016 All-Ireland U21 winner Fergal Boland takes up his position in the half-forward line.

The team has seven survivors from the side which started the All Ireland final replay defeat to Dublin — Keith Higgins, Paddy Durcan, Colm Boyle, Donal Vaughan, Kevin McLoughlin, Jason Doherty and Cillian O’Connor, while David Clarke and Stephen Coen both appeared off the bench.

Meanwhile, Monaghan have included six members of last year’s Ulster U21 football winning team in their squad for Saturday’s Allianz football league clash with Mayo.

Attacker Conor McCarthy starts at corner-forward while on the bench there are five other players who won the 2016 provincial U21 decider against Tyrone.

Monaghan celebrate winning Monaghan defeated Tyrone in last year's Ulster U21 final. Source: Presseye/Jonathan Porter/INPHO

Conor Forde, James Mealiff, Mikey Murnaghan, Ryan McAnespie and Barry McGinn are all named on the bench.

Manager Malachy O’Rourke has selected a team of experienced figures with the Wylie brothers and Colin Walshe in defence while Darren and Kieran Hughes form a midfield partnership.

In attack Karl O’Connell and two-time All-Star Conor McManus are both selected.


1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Donie Newcombe (Castlebar Mitchels)
3. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
4. Paddy Durcan(Castlebar Mitchels)

5. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
6. Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore)
7. David Drake (Ballaghaderreen)

8. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)
9. Danny Kirby (Castlebar Mitchels)

10. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)
11. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
12. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)

13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites)
14. Alan Freeman (Aghamore)
15. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber, Capt)

No substitutes’ names have been provided as of yet.


1. Rory Beggan (Scotstown)

2. Fintan Kelly (Clones)
3. Drew Wylie (Ballybay)
4. Ryan Wylie (Ballybay)

5. Colin Walshe (Doohamlet)
6. Neil McAdam (Monaghan Harps)
7. Kieran Duffy (Latton)

8. Darren Hughes (Scotstown)
9. Kieran Hughes (Scotstown)

10. Karl O’Connell (Tyholland)
11. Shane Carey (Scotstown)
12. Gavin Doogan (Magheracloone)

13. Conor McCarthy (Scotstown)
14. Thomas Kerr (Ballybay)
15. Conor McManus (Clontibret)


16. Conor Forde (Scotstown)
17. James Mealiff (Clones)
18. Owen Coyle (Latton)
19. Brian Greenan (Clontibret)
20. Mikey Murnaghan (Donaghmoyne)
21. Niall Kearns (Seán Mac Diarmada)
22. Dermot Malone (Castleblayney)
23. Owen Duffy (Latton)
24. Ryan McAnespie (Emyvale)
25. Stephen Finnegan (Donaghmoyne)
26. Barry McGinn (Doohamlet)

The piece was updated accordingly when the Kerry team news was announced.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Two league debuts for Roscommon while Tyrone boss Harte makes six changes

Wexford’s Lee Chin is going trying out ice hockey with Canadian side in Vancouver

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel