Monaghan minors overcome Kildare to set up All-Ireland semi-final against Kerry

Aaron Mulligan’s goal ensured Monaghan took firm control in Cusack Park today.

Aaron Mulligan celebrates his goal.
Aaron Mulligan celebrates his goal.
Image: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

Monaghan 2-11 

Kildare 0-8

MONAGHAN PROGRESSED TO the All-Ireland minor football championship semi-final, where they will face Munster Champions Kerry, after a deserved nine-point victory over Kildare, in what was a sub-standard affair played out in woeful conditions in TEG Cusack Park.

Monaghan looked very well structured, which will have pleased Seamus McEneaney, but Banty will realise that Kerry will be a completely different kettle of fish in the semi-final.

Kildare almost had a dream start to the game inside the opening minute, with Eoghan O’Haire’s effort coming off the post in the opening minute and Liam Broderick blazing wide with the follow up in what could only be described as a gilt-edged opportunity that Kildare would really regret come full time.

Both sides traded points in the early stages, with Kildare opening the scoring early on courtesy of Padraig Behan’s free, after Alex Beirne was fouled.

Kildare completely dominated the opening quarter and will wonder how they were only one point ahead with 15 on the clock, with Monaghan levelling courtesy of Aaron Mulligan’s free and it was all Monaghan from this point onwards.

Karl Gallagher with Kevin Kelleher Monaghan's Karl Gallagher with Kevin Kelleher of Kildare. Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

A fantastic pass from Sean Jones set up Aaron Mulligan who made no mistake with the finish for the game’s opening goal to give Monaghan a three-point advantage.

Two points from Loughlinn Power and Sean Jones left the gap at four points heading into the break, but a free from Padraig Behan on the stroke of half-time left the scoreboard reading 1-5 to 0-5 in favour of Monaghan at the interval.

Jones and Mulligan added further scores after the restart, before Seamus McEneaney’s side struck for their second goal, when a pass from goalkeeper Ryan Farrelly found corner-forward Donnacha Swinburne who tapped home from close range.

Padraig Behan responded for Kildare but it looked to be too much of a mountain to climb for Kildare, with heavy rain no doubt affecting players visibility heading into the closing stages.

John Ball dejected after the game John Ball dejected after the game. Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

Sam Reilly’s reduced the deficit to six heading into the last ten minutes, but three points from Donnacha Swinburne, Sean Jones and Karl Gallagher gave Monaghan a fully deserved nine-point victory.

Scorers for Monaghan: A Mulligan 1-3 (2f), S Jones 0-4 (4f), D Swinburne 1-1, S Hanratty, K Gallagher and L Power 0-1.

Scorers for Kildare: P Behan 0-5 (3f), E O’Haire 0-2 (2f), S Reilly 0-1,


 1. Ryan Farrelly (Magheracloone)

2. Ronan Grimes (Killanny)
3. Jack Doogan (Magheracloone)
4. Shane Hanratty (Inniskeen)

5. Christopher Flood  (Truagh)
6. Brendán Og O Dufaigh  (Monaghan Harps)
7. Michael Meehan (Scotstown)

8. Jordan McGarrell (Corduff)
9. Andrew Moore (Carrickmacross)

10. Aaron Mulligan (Latton)
11. Sean Jones (Inniskeen)
12. Karl Gallagher (Emyvale)

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

13. Donnacha Swinburne (Carrickmacross)
14. Loughlinn Power (Monaghan Harps)
15. Jason Irwin (Oram).

Subs used: 22. Oisin O’Hanlon (Carrickmacross) for Power (56), 17. Joel Wilson (Achadh na Muilleann) for McGarrell (58), 18. Jack McGeown (Carrickmacross) for Grimes (60), 24. Robbie Hanratty (Fag an Bealach) for Moore (62).


1. John Ball (Clane)

2. John Lynch (Clane)
17. Conor McGroary (Naas)
4. Jack Hamill (Raheens)

18. Sean Englishby (Leixlip)
6. Kevin Kelleher (Naas)
19. Daniel Caulfield (Sallins)

8. Liam Broderick (Ballymore Eustace)
9. Marcus Kiely (Two Mile House)

10. Jack Cleary (Naas)
11. Alex Beirne (Naas)
21. Padraig Behan (Kilcullen)

23. Eoghan O’Haire (Newtown Gaels)
24. Aaron Kennedy (St. Laurence’s)
7. Paddy McDermott (Naas)

Subs used: 22. Sam Reilly (Clane) for Broderick (h-t), 5. Nick Jackman for Englishby (h-t), 13. Muiris Curtin (Rathangan) for Kiely (54), 3. Sean Hill (Kilcock) for Caulfield (56), 20. Drew Costello (Naas) for Cleary (60), 15. Sam Morrissey (Naas) for Eoghan O’Haire (62).

About the author:

Conor McKenna

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel