This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Monday 25 March, 2019

Late, late drama as CBC Monkstown deny Gerard's in Leinster Senior Cup

Captain Robert Jordan was Monkstown’s hero in Donnybrook this afternoon.

Robert Jordan celebrates kicking the winning penalty in injury time Robert Jordan's late penalty was the difference between the sides. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

CBC Monkstown 15-13 St Gerard’s College

A LAST-GASP penalty from Robert Jordan booked CBC Monkstown’s place in the Leinster Schools Senior Cup quarter-finals.

Monkstown trailed St Gerard’s by a point deep into injury time but the scrum-half held his nerve over a 25-metre penalty to snatch victory at the death.

Monkstown’s powerful maul produced the only try of the first half and it was enough to give the Dun Laoghaire school a 5-3 advantage at the interval.

And they stretched their advantage when number eight William Fay burrowed his way over early in the second half, with captain Jordan adding the extras to make it 12-3.

Gerard’s own set piece paved their way back into the game and they caught Monkstown napping at scrum time to cut the deficit to 12-8 in the 44th minute.

They very nearly nicked a win when they took the lead with a second try four minutes from time before Jordan stepped up to save Monkstown.

Dejection for Gerard's at the final whistle Devastation for Gerard's in Donnybrook. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

St Gerard’s (named)

15. Ben Kealy
13. Matthew Dalton
13. Daniel Hodgkins
12. Marc Baker
11. Andrew Kingston
10. Tom Foley
9. Cormac Foley

1. Ryan Buckley
2. Shane Gallagher
3. Ciaran Walsh
4. Stephen Burke
5. Chris Symonds
6. Connor O’Farrell
7. Ethan Baxter
8. Billy O’Reilly (c)

CBC Monkstown (named)

15. Darragh Porter
14. Patrick Rogers
13. Tom O’Callaghan
12. Darragh Forster
11. Tom Kelly
10. Shane O’Hanrahan
9. Robert Jordan (c)

1. Callum Kavanagh
2. Alex Holmes
3. Eoghan Clarke
4. Jack MacAteer
5. Alec Byrne
6. Kenzi Kouadri
7. Zach Sattar
8. William Fay

Clinical Terenure see off late St Mary’s challenge

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: