Dublin: 12°C Sunday 24 October 2021

Conway and Marshall return ahead of sold-out Thomond Park derby

Munster will be looking to build on back-to-back Champions Cup wins when they welcome Leinster on St Stephen’s Day.

Johann van Graan Munster Head Coach Johann van Graan. Source: Bryan Keane/INPHO

MUNSTER HEAD COACH Johann van Graan makes four changes to the side that defeated Leicester in the Champions Cup last weekend for his side’s sold-out Interprovincial derby against Leinster in Thomond Park on St Stephen’s Day (3.15pm).

Returning to the side are Rhys Marshall and Andrew Conway with both players successfully completing their return to play protocols.

Keith Earls and Tommy O’Donnell are also named to start for the first time since Connacht in round seven.

In the back three, Earls takes the place of Wootton on the wing while Conway replaces Zebo at fullback, joining Darren Sweetnam who once again retains the number 14 jersey.

The midfield paring of Rory Scannell and Sammy Arnold, as well as half backs Conor Murray and Ian Keatley remain for Tuesday’s encounter.

O’Donnell completes an international back row that includes last week’s try scorer CJ Stander, who this week signed a new deal with Munster and the IRFU, and captain Peter O’Mahony — who becomes the latest player to make 100 appearances for the province.

Andrew Conway, John Ryan, Simon Zebo and Conor Murray Andrew Conway, John Ryan, Simon Zebo and Conor Murray during training on Saturday. Source: Bryan Keane/INPHO

Jean Kleyn and Billy Holland continue their second row partnership as Marshall joins the unchanged props of Dave Kilcoyne and Stephen Archer.

Named in the replacements is James Cronin who returns from a calf injury sustained while playing for the Barbarians against Tonga in November.

With additional seating put in place ahead of the clash and an increased capacity of 26,267, tickets have already sold out  ahead of a capacity crowd at Thomond Park.


15. Andrew Conway

14. Darren Sweetnam

13. Sammy Arnold

12. Rory Scannell

11. Keith Earls

10. Ian Keatley

9. Conor Murray

1. Dave Kilcoyne

2. Rhys Marshall


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

3. Stephen Archer

4. Jean Kleyn

5. Billy Holland

6. Peter O’Mahony (captain)

7. Tommy O’Donnell

8. CJ Stander.


16. Niall Scannell

17. James Cronin

18. John Ryan

19. Darren O’Shea

20. Jack O’Donoghue

21. Duncan Williams

22. JJ Hanrahan

23. Simon Zebo.

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

“Since he’s had a child he’s been relaxed, like: ‘What have I been worrying about all along?’”

Your provincial mid-term report cards are right here

About the author:

Aaron Gallagher

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel