Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 12°C Tuesday 29 September 2020

Clare and Limerick prepare for battle as teams announced for Munster U21 hurling quarter-final

The sides clash in Ennis later on today for a place in the final four.

CLARE AND LIMERICK have both named their starting fifteen’s for this evening’s Munster GAA Hurling Under 21 Championship quarter-final, with both looking to book a semi-final date with Tipperary in Thurles.

The sides meet in Cusack Park, with throw-in due at 5.45pm in Ennis later today.

Pat Donnelly’s visitors are aiming to make it back-to-back Munster titles this season and record their fourth in eight years — with Limerick having claimed last year’s Championship on top of recent successes in 2011 and 2015.

They will be led by captain Kyle Hayes at centre back, with two-time U21 All-Ireland winner Seamus Flanagan named at full forward.

Clare, meanwhile, are looking to secure their first Munster title since 2014, having last made the decider in 2015 where the Banner were defeated by today’s opponents.

This evening’s quarter-final will be shown live on TG4, with throw-in at 5.45pm.


1. Killian Nugent

2. Conor O’Halloran
3. Ross Hayes
4. Bradley Higgins

5. Diarmuid Ryan
6. Jason McCarthy
7. Pauric McNamara

8. Michael Corry
9. Kieran Galvin

10. Aidan McCarthy
11. Gary Cooney
12. Steven Conway

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

13. Joe Carmody
14. Colin Guilfoyle
15. Billy Connors

Subs: Eamonn Foudy, Liam O’Connor, Cathal Lynch, Cathal Darcy, Sean O’Loughlin, Padraic O’Loughlin, Michael O’Shea, Darren Cullinan, Ian Murray.


1. Jamie Power (Monaleen)

2. Brian McPartland (Doon)
3. Josh Adams (Ballybrown)
4. John Flynn (Patrickswell)

5. Daniel Minehan (Ahane)
6. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
7. Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh)

8. Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock)
9. Mike Mackey (Adare)

10. Brian Ryan (South Liberties)
11. Barry Murphy (Doon)
12. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)

13. Darren O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh)
15. Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock).

Subs: Adam O’Brien (Ahane), Paudi Ahern (Killeedy), Anthony Barrett (Kilmallock), Jack Casey (Murroe-Boher), Micheal Houlihan (Kilmallock), Eoin Mulcahy (Mungret), Mark O’Dwyer (Monaleen), Willie O’Meara (Askeaton), Brian Timmins (Murroe-Boher).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

10 young footballers to watch out for in this summer’s senior championship

23 years with Wexford, between the posts for that Steph Roche goal and chasing national glory

About the author:

Aaron Gallagher

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel