Friday 3 February 2023 Dublin: 12°C
Billy Stickland/INPHO Peter O'Mahony returned for Munster last weekend against Zebre.
# Red Army
O'Mahony starts as captain as Munster make 5 changes for Leinster showdown
The Ireland flanker starts a game for Munster for the first time since injuring his knee over a year ago.

MUNSTER WILL HAVE Peter O’Mahony in their starting line-up for the first time in over a year when they take on Leinster tomorrow at the Aviva Stadum [KO 2.05pm, TG4 & Sky Sports 1].

O’Mahony, who returned last weekend as a substitute in the win against Zebre for the first time since injuring his knee at the 2015 Rugby World Cup, will captain his side for the inter-provincial derby in the Guinness Pro12.

Second-placed Munster, who are a point ahead of Leinster in third, have made five changes in personnel from their 49-5 defeat of the Italians, as new Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus aims for a fourth consecutive victory.

After making his Munster debut against Zebre, South African international centre Jaco Taute drops to the bench to be replaced by Rory Scannell, who’s back from a neck injury he sustained in the loss to Cardiff Blues in round two. The other change in the backs is on the wing, where Ronan O’Mahony comes in for Alex Wootton.

There are two changes in the front row, with Niall Scannell and John Ryan given the nod ahead of Duncan Casey and Stephen Archer, both of whom are named among the replacements.

With Peter O’Mahony coming into the back row, Billy Holland hands over the captain’s armband and moves into the second row alongside Donnacha Ryan, and Darren O’Shea drops out of the matchday squad.


15. Simon Zebo
14. Darren Sweetnam
13. Keith Earls
12. Rory Scannell
11. Ronan O’Mahony
10. Tyler Bleyendaal
9. Conor Murray

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

1. Dave Kilcoyne
2. Niall Scannell
3. John Ryan
4. Donnacha Ryan
5. Billy Holland
6. Peter O’Mahony (captain)
7. Tommy O’Donnell
8. CJ Stander


16. Duncan Casey
17. James Cronin
18. Stephen Archer
19. Robin Copeland
20. Jack O’Donoghue
21. Duncan Williams
22. Ian Keatley
23. Jaco Taute

Dan Carter’s agent denies any wrongdoing after drug test ‘showed anomalies’

‘I have been here for so long it was a bit of a disappointment that I couldn’t stay’

Your Voice
Readers Comments