This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 26 March, 2019

0-10 for Connolly as Nemo lift Munster football title and stun All-Ireland holders Dr Crokes

The Cork side won out by five points in Páirc Uí Rinn.

Nemo Rangers 0-16
Dr Crokes 0-11

Denis Hurley reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

CORK STAR LUKE Connolly scored ten points as Nemo Rangers dethroned All-Ireland champions Dr Crokes in the Munster Club SFC final at Páirc Uí Rinn today.

Luke Connolly with Luke Quinn Luke Connolly starred for Nemo Rangers today. Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

Before 2,851 people, the Cork city side repeated their feat of 2010, when they also saw off the Killarney club to claim provincial honours. This is their 16th Munster title, having been Cork champions on 20 occasions.

Nemo led by 0-9 to 0-5 at half-time, but it should have been even greater. In addition to his six first-period points, Connolly was twice unlucky with goal efforts, denied by superb Shane Murphy saves on each occasion, while Crokes corner-back John Payne made three excellent blocks.

Nemo Rangers celebrate with the trophy after the game Nemo Rangers players celebrate with the Munster senior club football trophy. Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

Crokes had led by twice in the opening ten minutes but were held scoreless for 15 minutes as Nemo scored six in a row, with captain and full-back Aidan O’Reilly and the impressive Paddy Gumley also on target.

Gumley and Connolly eased Nemo six clear on the resumption but four from Crokes – Looney, captain Daithí Casey (two) and Colm Coooper – gave them hope before the Leesiders pushed on again.

Colm Cooper dejected after the game A dejected Colm Cooper after Dr Crokes defeat. Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

Connolly’s free was followed by a superb effort from play and Paul Kerrigan’s effort, which went over off the crossbar, put them five ahead, 0-14 to 0-9.

Crokes’ cause wasn’t helped by Kieran O’Leary’s dismissal for a second booking and they were unable to eat into the gap, Nemo sub Conor Horgan wrapping things up with a late point.

Scorers for Nemo Rangers: Luke Connolly 0-10 (0-4f, 0-2 ’45), Paddy Gumley 0-3, Aidan O’Reilly, Conor Horgan, Paul Kerrigan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dr Crokes: Colm Cooper (0-3f), Daithí Casey (0-1f) 0-3 each, Brian Looney 0-2, Johnny Buckley, Gavin White, Jordan Kiely 0-1 each.

Nemo Rangers

1. Micheál Martin

2. Kevin O’Donovan
3. Aidan O’Reilly
4. Alan Cronin

5. Jack Donovan
6. Stephen Cronin
7. Kevin Fulignati

8. Alan O’Donovan
9. Jack Horgan

10. Barry O’Driscoll
11. Paul Kerrigan
12. Colin O’Brien

14. Paddy Gumley
13. Luke Connolly
15. Ciarán Dalton


17. Conor Horgan for Gumley (58)
21. Adrian Greaney for Kerrigan (60, injured)

Dr Crokes

1. Shane Murphy

4. Luke Quinn
5. David O’Leary
2. John Payne

7. Gavin White
6. Fionn Fitzgerald
3. Michael Moloney

8. Johnny Buckley
9. Alan O’Sullivan

10. Micheál Burns
11. Gavin O’Shea
12. Brian Looney

15. Kieran O’Leary
14. Daithí Casey
13. Colm Cooper


22. Paul Clarke for O’Shea (44)
17. Tony Brosnan for Burns (47)
20. Eoin O’Brosnan for Quinn (53)
29. Jordan Kiely for Looney (58)

Referee: Seán Lonergan (Tipperary)

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Cavanagh brothers set for All-Ireland club semi-final after Tyrone’s Moy lift Ulster crown

Dublin, Tipperary and Derry stars land player of the year awards after 2017 exploits

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel