This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 7 °C Friday 18 October, 2019
Advertisement

France lock Pascal Papé cited for incident that left Jamie Heaslip injured

Wayne Barnes sin binned Papé in the 52nd minute of play in Dublin on Saturday.

FRANCE SECOND ROW Pascal Papé has been cited for the incident involving Jamie Heaslip during his side’s 18-11 defeat to Ireland on Saturday.

The Stade Français lock was sin binned for what referee Wayne Barnes perceived to be a deliberate use of the knee into the back of Ireland number eight Jamie Heaslip in the 52nd minute of the Six Nations clash.

Source: RBS 6 Nations/YouTube

Papé will appear before an independent Six Nations committee this week to answer the citing made by Saturday’s independent citing commissioner, Stefano Marrama of Italy.

Papé’s citing comes under World Rugby Law 10.4 (a), which prohibits players from striking opponents with the knee.

Law 10.4 (a) Punching or striking:

A player must not strike an opponent with the fist or arm, including the elbow, shoulder, head or knee(s).

Ireland are expected to issue an update on the injury status of Heaslip this afternoon, with the Leinster captain having undergone scans on his lower back following his team’s win on Saturday.

pape Barnes shows Papé the yellow card.

 

Heaslip limped off the pitch seven minutes after the incident involving Papé, and head coach Joe Schmidt indicated that his number eight was “very uncomfortable” after the game.

Under World Rugby’s sanctions for foul Play, suspensions under Law 10.4 (a) carries the following entry points:

Low End: four weeks     Mid-Range: 10 weeks     Top End: 16 to 104 weeks.

The Six Nations also issued notice that France Women second row Manon André has been cited for an incident in during her side’s win over Ireland at Ashbourne on Friday evening.

That citing comes under Law 10.4 (a), and appears to be related to alleged contact with the eye area of an Irish player.

Law 10.4 (m) Acts contrary to good sportsmanship:

A player must not do anything that is against the spirit of good sportsmanship in the playing enclosure. (Alleged contact with Eye(s) or the Eye Area).

‘Brutal in Dublin’ – Jeremy Guscott was far from impressed by Ireland on Saturday

Sexton wary of underachieving England ahead of Lansdowne showdown

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next:

COMMENTS (17)

This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel