This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 17 °C Friday 24 May, 2019

Pat Spillane's nephew to start for Dublin U21 footballers tomorrow night against Meath

Daragh Spillane is named at half-back for the clash in Parnell Park.

A MEMBER OF one of the most famous Kerry football families will start for the Dublin U21 football side in tomorrow night’s EirGrid Leinster quarter-final against Meath.

Dublin supporters celebrate Dublin face Meath in Parnell Park tomorrow night. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Cuala player Daragh Spillane, who is named at left half-back, is a son of Mick Spillane, who won seven All-Ireland senior football medals with Kerry

Mick Spillane clears under pressure Mick Spillane, father of Dublin U21 Daragh, clears the ball in the 1985 All-Ireland final Source: INPHO

His uncle Pat, the noted RTÉ GAA pundit, claimed eight All-Ireland senior medals with Kerry and another uncle Tom was part of four triumphant outfits that won the Sam Maguire.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

The Dublin team contains three members of the team that lost out to Tipperary in last year’s All-Ireland semi-final.

Goalkeeper Lorcan Molloy, full-back Martin Cahilan and midfielder Andy Foley are the survivors from that side.

Full-forward Con O’Callaghan featured for the Dublin senior side against Kerry in the league last month while centre-forward Michael Deegan started in Dublin’s Leinster U21 final win over Meath in 2014.

Throw-in tomorrow night in Parnell Park is 7.30pm.


1. Lorcan Molloy (St Annes)

2. David Bolger (Ballymun Kickhams)
3. Martin Cahilan (Cuala)
4. Eoin Smith (Skerries Harps)

5. Glenn O’Reilly (Na Fianna)
6. Sean McMahon (Raheny)
7. Darragh Spillane (Cuala)

8. Andy Foley (Clontarf)
9. Killian Deeley (Na Fianna)

10. Tom Lahiff (St Judes)
11. Michael Deegan (Donaghmore-Ashbourne)
12. Cillian O’Shea (Kilmacud Crokes)

13. Dara Mullin (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Aaron Byrne (Na Fianna)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Two of Dublin’s best young players to miss Cork and Down league games

Two Leinster rugby staff members set to play in the All-Ireland club finals on St Patrick’s Day

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel