Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Tuesday 20 April 2021

Record-breaking Zebo, Connacht extend their lead and all the Irish highlights from the Pro12

Mixed fortunes for the provinces this weekend.

THERE WERE A couple of wins and a couple of losses for the Irish sides in Guinness Pro12 action over a weekend which saw Connacht get the better of Leinster in a dramatic meeting of the top-two at the Sportsground.

Munster’s win over Zebre saw them move into fourth place at the expense of Ulster, who drop down to fifth following their away defeat to Glasgow Warriors.

At Thomond Park on Friday night, Munster registered seven tries in a very comfortable win against Zebre. Simon Zebo scored twice to overtake Anthony Horgan as the province’s record try-scorer.

Source: PRO12 Rugby/YouTube

Also on Friday, Ulster travelled to Scotstoun with Iain Henderson in their starting line-up for the first time in four months and the Irish international scored their first of two tries.

However, with Six Nations Player of the Tournament Stuart Hogg in fine form — despite a first-half yellow card — Glasgow gained revenge for their defeat at Kingspan Stadium in February.

Source: PRO12 Rugby/YouTube

The big game of the weekend was a top-of-the-table clash between Connacht and Leinster in Galway on Saturday afternoon.

It was tight and it was tense but Connacht did just enough to extend their lead at the summit to four points thanks to Kieran Marmion’s first half-try.

Source: PRO12 Rugby/YouTube

With 18 rounds of fixtures already accounted for and just four more to go, there are two inter-provincial derbies down for decision next weekend.

Ulster host Connacht in Belfast on Friday (7.35pm) and Munster go to the Aviva Stadium on Saturday to take on Leinster (5.30pm).

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

No coaching role for O’Connell at Grenoble, insists Jackman

SANZAR dismiss EPCR claims over game between Super Rugby and Champions Cup winners

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next: