This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 25 April, 2019

3 championship newcomers for both Roscommon and Leitrim

Ronan Stack replaces Darragh Donnelly in the only Roscommon change from the win over Cavan

Ciaran Murtagh is named at corner forward.
Ciaran Murtagh is named at corner forward.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

JOHN EVANS HAS handed championship debuts to three players for Roscommon’s Connacht quarter-final against Leitrim.

Ciarán Cafferky, Ronan Stack and Ciaráin Murtagh, all members of the U21 team in 2012 who reached that year’s All-Ireland final, will make their first starts for the Rossies on Sunday.

Overall there’s only one change from the side that defeated Cavan in the Allianz League Division Three Final with Ronan Stack coming into the side at left half forward for his St Brigid’s team mate Darragh Donnelly.

Among those injured are U21′s Conor Daly and Fintan Kelly, last year’s wing back Paddy Brogan, Michael Finneran, Donal Keane, and 2006 All-Ireland minor winning captain David Flynn. There are none of this year’s U21′s panel included in the starting fifteen.

The team in full is as follows:

1. Darren O’Malley (Michael Glaveys)
2. Seánie McDermott (Western Gaels)
3. Niall Carty (C) (Padraig Pearses)
4. Neil Collins (Castlerea St. Kevins
5. David Keenan (St. Barrys)
6. Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)
7. Ciarán Cafferkey (Western Gaels)
8. Cathal Shine (Clann na nGael)
9. Kevin Higgins (Western Gaels)
10. David O’Gara (Roscommon Gaels)
11. Donie Shine (Clann na nGael)
12. Ronan Stack (St. Brigids)
13. Senan Kilbride (St. Brigids)
14. Cathal Cregg (Western Gaels)
15. Ciaráin Murtagh (St. Faithleachs)​

Leitrim have also given championship debuts to Donal Wrynn, Damian Moran and Sean McWeeney.

1. Cathal McCrann (Gortletteragh)
2. Barry Prior (Aughawillan)
3. Donal Wrynn (Fenagh St Caillins)
4. Paddy Maguire (Glencar Manorhamilton)
5. Wayne McKeon (Ballinamore Seán O’Heslin’s
6. Gary Reynolds (Carrigallen)
7. Paul Brennan (Melvin Gaels)
8. Darren Sweeney (Glencar Manorhamilton)
9. Damian Moran (Bornacoola)
10. Kevin Conlon (St Patrick’s Dromahair)
11. Robert Lowe (St Mary’s)
12. Barry McWeeney (Aughnasheelin)
13. Emlyn Mulligan Capt (St Brigids)
14. James Glancy (Glencar Manorhamilton)
15. Sean McWeeney (Aughnasheelin)

Throw in at Dr Hyde Park is 3pm on Sunday.

All you need to know about Louth’s new 17 year-old senior prospect Ryan Burns

‘One Year, No Beer’ – Westmeath footballer raises €7,000 for mental health awareness

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next: