Roscommon manager Des Newton speaks to his team on the field at half-time of their tie with Armagh. INPHO/James Crombie
starting XV

Rossies unchanged for showdown with Tyrone

The Roscommon side that claimed a famous victory over Armagh last time out have been entrusted with the task of repeating the feat against Tyrone on Saturday.

ROSCOMMON BOSS DES Newton has kept faith with the side that defeated Armagh in the first round of the All-Ireland qualifiers for Saturday’s round two meeting with Tyrone.

Defender Cathal Dineen is once again ruled with an ankle injury while midfielder Michael Finneran is unable to force his way into the starting fifteen despite recovering from injury. Cathal Cregg and Donie Shine have recovered from injury worries to be named at centre-forward and left corner-forward respectively.

There is a youthful look to the Roscommon side with four members of the county side that contested the All-Ireland U21 football final against Dublin in May amongst the starting senior side on Saturday. Midfielder Cathal Shine, wing-forwards Niall Kilroy and Niall Daly, and full-forward Colin Compton were all part of that U21 outfit.

ROSCOMMON SF: Geoffrey Claffey ; Seanie McDermott (St Kevin’s – Castlerea), Niall Carty (Padraig Pearses), Sean Purcell (Boyle); Neil Collins (St Kevin’s – Castlerea), Peter Domican (St Brigid’s), Ian Kilbride (St Brigid’s); Cathal Shine (Clann na nGael), Karol Mannion (St Brigid’s); Niall Kilroy (Fuerty), Cathal Cregg (Western Gaels), Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses); Senan Kilbride (St Brigid’s), Colin Compton (Strokestown), Donal Shine (Clann na nGael).

Meanwhile Roscommon minor boss Garreth Carroll has named an unchanged side for their Connacht final showdown against Mayo in Dr Hyde Park on Sunday from the side that defeated Galway at the semi-final stage.
ROSCOMMON MF: Shane Mannion (St Brigid’s); Philip Neilan (Fuerty), Dennis Barron (Éire Óg) Cathal Kenny (Oran); Tadhg McKenna (Boyle), Conor Hussey (Michael Glavey’s), Ronan Daly (Padraig Pearses); Ultan Harney (Clann na nGael), Thomas Corcoran (Strokestown); Cathal Compton (Strokestown), Ruardhri McManus (Clann na nGael), Enda Smith (Boyle); Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleach’s), Kevin Finn (Strokestown), Michael Gunning (Oran).
Opponents Mayo have also named an unchanged team for the provincial minor decider from that which defeated Sligo in the semi-final.
MAYO MF: Conor O’Malley (Westport); David McHale (Knockmore), Sean Moran (Kiltimagh), Kevin Lynch (Mayo Gaels); Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels), Cian Burke (Ardnaree Sarsfields), Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber); Brian Mullen (Westport), Adam Gallagher (Mayo Gaels); Eoghan Lavin (Kiltimagh), Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore), Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber); Darren Duffy (Aghamore), Shane Hennelly  (Shrule/Glencorrib), Sean Regan (Ballina Stephenites).

Cregg bracing himself for daunting Tyrone tie

I can’t understand why Mortimer wasn’t playing – Maughan