This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 2 °C Wednesday 16 January, 2019

Irish women's hockey team voted RTÉ Sport's Team of the Year by the public

Graham Shaw’s side reached a World Cup final in the summer, and were voted the nation’s best team by the public.

THE IRISH WOMEN’S hockey team have been voted by the public as Team of the Year at the RTÉ Sports awards this evening.

Graham Shaw’s women exceeded all expectations in reaching the World Cup final in the summer, eventually losing out to perennial champions The Netherlands.

Shaw was also named RTÉ Sport Manager of the Year.

The women’s hockey team were voted the nation’s best team ahead of the Irish men’s rugby team as well as the Dublin footballers, the Cork camogie team, the Dublin ladies footballers, the Limerick hurlers, Dundalk FC, Ireland Eventing, the Irish Paralympic athletics team, the O’Donovan brothers, and Leinster Rugby.

Murray Kinsella, Gavan Casey and Eddie O’Sullivan preview another big weekend of Heineken Cup action and dissect the week’s main talking points.

Source: Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42/SoundCloud

Subscribe to our new podcast, Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42, here:

Graham Shaw beats Joe Schmidt to win RTÉ Sport Manager of the Year

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel