Rising Stars

Here are the draws for the 2018 Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cup competitions

Reigning champions St Mary’s and Mary Immaculate College discovered their fate.

pjimage (1) Mary Immaculate and St Mary's are the reigning champions. INPHO INPHO

SOME OF THE best young GAA players in the country found out today the clashes that lie ahead of them early in 2018 when the draws for the Electric Ireland Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cup took place.

Galway’s Damien Comer (NUI Galway), Mayo’s Diarmuid O’Connor (DCU) and Monaghan’s Conor McCarthy (UCD) were amongst the footballers present in Croke Park, while Tipperary’s Michael Breen (UCC), Clare’s David Reidy (Limerick IT) and Waterford’s Patrick Curran (DCU) were some of the hurlers in attendance.

Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Senior Championships Launch & Draw Seb Daly / SPORTSFILE Seb Daly / SPORTSFILE / SPORTSFILE

Reigning Sigerson Cup champions St Mary’s face an all-Belfast clash against University Ulster Jordanstown in the first round. UCD, the beaten finalists last February, will take on Maynooth University.

The current Fitzgibbon Cup kingpins Mary Immaculate College have been drawn in Group D with IT Carlow, NUI Galway and Trinity College.

Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Senior Championships Launch & Draw Eóin Noonan / SPORTSFILE Eóin Noonan / SPORTSFILE / SPORTSFILE

Some variations to this year’s schedule include the Fitzgibbon Cup group games starting on a Sunday while the finals weekend format is no more.

Instead the semi-finals will take place in both competitions on Tuesday 13 February with the Sigerson final in the Dublin venue of Santry Avenue on 17 February and the Fitzgibbon decider in the Cork venue of Mallow on 24 February.

Here are the draws in full:

Sigerson Cup

Preliminary Round – 23/24 January

Athlone IT v Garda College
Dundalk IT v Trinity College

Round One – 23/24/30/31 January

A. UCC v Athlone IT/Garda College
B. NUI Galway v IT Sligo
C. Queen’s University v IT Tralee
D. Dublin IT v IT Carlow
E. St Mary’s v University Ulster Jordanstown
F. UL v Cork IT
G. Maynooth University v UCD
H. DCU v Dundalk IT/Trinity College

Quarter-Finals – Tuesday/Wednesday 6/7 February
Semi-Finals – Tuesday 13 February
Final – Saturday 17 February, Santry Avenue

Fitzgibbon Cup

Group A – Cork IT, UCC, UCD.
Group B – UL, Dublin IT, Waterford IT.
Group C – Limerick IT, DCU, Garda College.
Group D – Mary Immaculate, IT Carlow, NUI Galway, Trinity College.


Round 1 - Sunday 21 January
Round 2 – Wednesday/Thursday 24/25 January
Round 3 - Wednesday/Thursday 31 Jan/1 February

Quarter-Finals - Wednesday/Thursday 7/8 February
Winner A v Runner Up B
Winner B v Runner Up A
Winner C v Runner Up D
Winner D v Runner Up C

Semi-Finals – Tuesday 13 February

Final – Saturday 24 February, Mallow

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Departure of captain McDonnell sees hurling guard continue to change in Cork

2017 Dublin minor boss takes charge of talented Sky Blues U20s side for next season

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel