Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 5°C Friday 4 December 2020

Sigerson Cup: Murphy inspires DCU to victory

Donegal’s All-Ireland winning captain was the star of the show this afternoon.

 DCU's Michael Murphy and Peter Quinn of QUB.
DCU's Michael Murphy and Peter Quinn of QUB.
Image: INPHO/Ryan Byrne

DCU 0-17
Queen’s University 0-9

Michael Murphy kicked nine points as DCU swept past Queen’s University in the Sigerson Cup this afternoon.

In a game played at the DCU Sportsgrounds, Donegal star Murphy gave an attacking masterclass as DCU prevailed in this first round clash by nine points.

DCU followed up last weekend’s preliminary round success against UL with another victory and can now look forward to a quarter-final meeting with UCD next Thursday.

The winners played into an extremely strong wind in the first-half yet significantly were still able to fashion a 0-7 to 0-6 lead by half-time.

The opening period was evenly-contested on the scoreboard but DCU’s scores were more noteworthy given the wind with both Murphy and Dean Rock showing excellent judgment and accuracy in clipping over points in the first-half.

Murphy, playing in the half-forward line in the early stages, helped put DCU into a 0-4 to 0-2 lead after the first quarter but Derry’s James Kielt and Down’s Donal O’Hare kept Queen’s University in touch as they only trailed by the minimum at the break.

Turning to play against the wind, Queen’s University opened brightly in the second-half and a brace of Kielt frees sandwiched a point from play by Murphy to leave the teams tied 0-8 apiece after the break.

However Queen’s University would only add one further point, a late free by O’Hare, and they failed to score from play in the second-half as a DCU rearguard, which had standout displays from Jonathan Cooper and Michael Quinn, held firm.

Up front DCU were inspired by the magnificence of Murphy, now deployed at full-forward, as he produced sparkling marksmanship in notching points from an array of angles.

Queen’s University were unable to cope as DCU got on top and when captain Paul Flynn pointed in the 45th minute, they were in control as they lead by 0-12 to 0-8.

The game petered to its inevitable conclusion from there with Christopher McGuinness catching the eye upon his introduction in attack for DCU and fittingly Murphy fired over a stunning point from the right to seal their triumph.

Scorers for DCU: Michael Murphy 0-9 (0-4f), Dean Rock, Christopher McGuinness 0-2 each, Antoin McFadden, Paul Flynn, Donie Smith, Jack McCarron 0-1 each.
Scorers for Queen’s University: James Kielt 0-5 (0-4f), Donal O’Hare 0-2 (0-2f), Shay McArdle, Christy Sheerin 0-1 each.

DCU: James Farrelly (Cavan); William Lowry (Dublin), Jonathan Cooper (Dublin), Conor Daly (Roscommon); James McCarthy (Dublin), Jack Brady (Cavan), Michael Quinn (Longford); Fiontan O Curraoin (Galway), Pete O’Hanlon (Monaghan); Paul Flynn (Dublin), Michael Murphy (Donegal), Antoin McFadden (Donegal); Dean Rock (Dublin), Brian Donnelly (Louth), Philip Ryan (Dublin).

Subs: Donie Smith (Roscommon) for Donnelly (14), Davy Byrne (Dublin) for McCarthy (38), Christopher McGuinness (Monaghan) for Ryan (42), Jack McCarron (Monaghan) for Rock (51), Eamon Doherty (Donegal) for Flynn (56).

Queen’s University: Matthew Jackson (Fermanagh); Peter Quinn (Derry), Gerard McGovern (Down), Owen Costello (Derry); Jamie O’Reilly (Down), Ryan Mallon (Down), Brian Cox (Fermanagh); James Kielt (Derry), Christy Sheerin (Antrim); Caolan Rafferty (Armagh), Niall McKenna (Tyrone), Ryan Jones (Fermanagh); Donal O’Hare (Down), Shay McArdle (Down), Eugene McVerry (Armagh).

Subs: Conor Kearns (Down) for Sheerin (half-time), Sean Warnock (Tyrone) for McGovern (half-time), Harry Og Conlon (Tyrone) for McArdle (half-time), Ryan Rafferty (Armagh) for McKenna (54), Ryan Murray (Antrim) for McVerry (56).

Referee: Noel Mooney (Cavan)

Sigerson Cup: DIT escape from the wild west

Sharp-shooting Ciaran Sheehan inspires Cork IT to win over GMIT on Leeside

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: