Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 12°C Monday 17 May 2021

Champions Tipperary out in front with 15 nominees for the 2016 GAA-GPA All-Star hurling awards

Waterford, Kilkenny, Galway, Clare, Wexford, Cork and Limerick all have nominees.

Tipperary players James Barry and Cathal Barrett have both been nominated.
Tipperary players James Barry and Cathal Barrett have both been nominated.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

TIPPERARY’S ENTIRE ALL-Ireland winning team have been nominated for the 2016 GAA-GPA Opel All-Star hurling awards.

The 15 Premier players have been selected as the champions lead the way in this year’s 45-player shortlist.

All-Ireland semi-finalists and league finalists Waterford are next with nine nominees, while Leinster champions and All-Ireland finalists Kilkenny have eight players nominated.

There are six Galway players in contention along with three from league champions Clare.

Wexford have two nominees and there are one apiece from Cork and Limerick.

The team will be selected next month with the awards presented at a banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday 4 November.

The list of nominees in full is:


1. Colm Callanan (Galway)

2. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

3. Darren Gleeson (Tipperary)

Darren Gleeson celebrates Tipperary goalkeeper Darren Gleeson Source: James Crombie/INPHO


1. Cian Dillon (Clare)

2. Daithi Burke (Galway)

3. Padraig Mannion (Galway)

4. Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny)

5. Paul Murphy (Kilkenny)

6. Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny)

Padraig Walsh Kilkenny's Padraig Walsh Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

7. Diarmuid Byrnes (Limerick)

8. Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)

9. James Barry (Tipperary)

10. Michael Cahill (Tipperary)

11. Seamus Kennedy (Tipperary)

Seamus Kennedy celebrates Tipperary's Seamus Kennedy Source: James Crombie/INPHO

12. Pádraic Maher (Tipperary)

13. Ronan Maher (Tipperary)

14. Noel Connors (Waterford)

15. Tadgh de Búrca (Waterford)

Tadgh de Burca Waterford defender Tadgh de Búrca Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

16. Shane Fives (Waterford)

17. Philip Mahony (Waterford)

18. Matthew O’Hanlon (Wexford)


1. David Burke (Galway)

2. Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny)

3. Michael Breen (Tipperary)

4. Brendan Maher (Tipperary)

5. Jamie Barron (Waterford)

Conor Fogarty tackles Jamie Barron Kilkenny's Conor Fogarty tackles Waterford's Jamie Barron. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

6. Kevin Moran (Waterford)


1. Colm Galvin (Clare)

2. Tony Kelly (Clare)

3. Alan Cadogan (Cork)

Alan Cadogan Cork hurler Alan Cadogan Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

4. Joe Canning (Galway)

5. Conor Cooney (Galway)

Conor Cooney celebrates scoring  a goal Conor Cooney celebrates scoring a goal for Galway against Tipperary Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

6. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

7. TJ Reid (Kilkenny)

8. Walter Walsh (Kilkenny)

9. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)

10. Patrick Maher (Tipperary)

11. Dan McCormack  (Tipperary)

12. John McGrath (Tipperary)

John McGrath and Seamus Callanan celebrate Tipperary's John McGrath and Seamus Callanan celebrate their win Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

13. Noel McGrath (Tipperary)

14. John O’Dwyer (Tipperary)

15. Austin Gleeson (Waterford)

16. Pauric Mahony (Waterford)

Pauric Mahony Waterford hurler Pauric Mahony Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

17. Michael Walsh (Waterford)

18. Lee Chin (Wexford)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Joe Canning’s hamstring setback – ‘Probably a centimetre and a half away from ending my career’

Injured after winning her 10th All-Ireland, Geraldine O’Flynn started to see things differently

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: