Dublin: 12°C Sunday 3 July 2022

Trapattoni wins manager of the year award

Giovanni Trapattoni was named as Phillips Sports Manager of the Year for 2011 earlier today.

Image: ©INPHO/Donall Farmer

GIOVANNI TRAPATTONI’S WINNING STREAK continued this afternoon when he was named Phillips Sports Manager of the Year for 2011.

The award comes at the end of an excellent year which saw Trapattoni’s Republic of Ireland go 13 competitive games without defeat, culminating in qualification for next summer’s European Championships, the country’s first major tournament in 10 years.

The Italian becomes the first foreign winner in the prize’s 30-year history, awarded annually to recognise outstanding achievement by an Irish or Irish-based coach.

Trapattoni was selected over the 11 other monthly winners from 2011, a list which included Dublin manager Pat Gilroy, Kilkenny’s Brian Cody, Leinster manager Joe Schmidt, Shamrock Rovers boss Michael O’Neill and Irish cricket coach Phil Simmons.

Ireland’s goalkeeping coach Alan Kelly collected the award on behalf of Trapattoni, who was not present at this afternoon’s presentation in the Shelbourne Hotel in Dublin.

On course: Annalise Murphy qualifies for London 2012

‘You never know’ – Steven Reid open to Euro call from Trap

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: