Dublin: 13°C Thursday 28 October 2021

Harte hands trio first championship starts in Tyrone opener

The Red Hand boss has made five changes from the team that started against Kerry last month.

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte.
Tyrone manager Mickey Harte.
Image: Presseye/John Stafford/INPHO

TYRONE MANAGER MICKEY Harte has handed a first championship start to three players for his side’s Ulster quarter-final against Derry on Sunday (2pm).

Corner-back Padraig Hampsey is named in a Tyrone senior football championship XV for the first time, as is midfielder Conall McCann and wing-forward Kieran McGeary.

Harte makes five changes in all from their final Allianz NFL game against Kerry, a seven-point defeat to the Kingdom in Killarney at the start of April.

Goalkeeper Niall Morgan, full-back Ronan McNamee, centre-back Rory Brennan, wing-forward Conor Meyler and corner-forward Matthew Donnelly are included this time around with Michael O’Neill, Ronan McNabb, Padraig McNulty and Darren McCurry dropping to the substitutes.

Corner-back Cathal McCarron is the other change from the starting XV against Kerry but he misses out on the Celtic Park clash with a hamstring injury. Justin McMahon is another experienced defender to miss out as a quad issue continues to keep him sidelined.

Tyrone (v Derry)

1. Niall Morgan (Edendork)

2. Aidan McCrory (Errigal Ciarán)
3. Ronan McNamee (Aghayaran)
4. Pádraig Hampsey (Coalisland)

5. Tiernan McCann (Killyclogher)
6. Rory Brennan (Trillick)
7. Peter Harte (Errigal Ciarán)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

8. Colm Cavanagh (Moy)
9. Conall McCann (Killyclogher)

10. Kieran McGearay (Pomeroy Plunketts)
11. Niall Sludden (Dromore)
12. Conor Meyler (Omagh)

13. Mark Bradley (Killyclogher)
14. Sean Cavanagh (Moy)
15. Matthew Donnelly (Trillick)


16. Michael O’Neill (Clonoe)
17. Lee Brennan (Trillick)
18. Frank Burns (Pomeroy Plunketts)
19. Declan McClure (Clonoe)
20. Darren McCurry (Edendork)
21. Hugh Pat McGeary (Pomeroy Plunketts)
22. Ronan McNabb (Dromore)
23. Padraig McNulty (Dungannon)
24. Cathal McShane (Owen Roe O’Neill’s)
25. David Mulgrew (Ardboe)
26. Ronan O’Neill (Omagh)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Cork call on 5 of their U21 finalists for Munster junior football opener

Looking up to Joe Canning, going to college with Luke Meade and being coached by Jamie Wall

About the author:

Alan Waldron

Read next: