Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 7°C Saturday 8 May 2021

Senior final hero Walsh amongst nominees for U21 award

Clare lead the way in the shortlist for the Breaking Through Player Of The Year award along with last Sunday’s All-Ireland final man-of-the-match winner.

Clare's Tony Kelly and Kilkenny's Walter Walsh have both been nominated.
Clare's Tony Kelly and Kilkenny's Walter Walsh have both been nominated.
Image: INPHO/Donall Farmer

WALTER WALSH, THE winner of the man-of-the-match award in last Sunday’s All-Ireland senior hurling final replay, is one of six players that have been shortlisted for the Bord Gáis Breaking Through Player Of The Year for 2012.

The award recognises the outstanding performers in this year’s Bord Gáis All-Ireland U21 hurling championship and features three players from the ultimate winners Clare in Patrick O’Connor, Seadna Morey and Tony Kelly.

Walsh, who fired 2-7 during Kilkenny’s U21 campaign which concluded with that final loss to Clare, is joined on the shortlist by his teammate Ger Aylward who notched 4-12 in front of goal for the Cats.

Clare’s outstanding campaign is recognised in defensive duo Patrick O’Connor and Seadna Morey both being nominated while Tony Kelly, man-of-the-match in their Munster final success against Tipperary, is also in the frame after a series of excellent performances.

The only player from outside of the two All-Ireland finalists to be in contention is Tipperary’s John O’Dwyer. He struck 1-25 in their Munster championship campaign which saw them victorious against Cork and Limerick before losing out narrowly to Clare.

A panel made up of Bord Gáis Energy Sports Ambassador and Cork selector Ger Cunningham, Micheál Ó Dómhnaill of TG4, Bord Gáis Energy Ambassador Joe Canning and former Waterford great Ken McGrath will deliberate on the nominees before announcing a winner in the coming weeks.

The winning player will receive a trophy and voucher worth €1,000 to mark his achievement.

Bord Gáis Energy Breaking Through Player of the Year Shortlist
John O’Dwyer (Tipperary – Killenaule), Patrick O’Connor (Clare – Tubber), Seadna Morey (Clare – Sixmilebridge), Tony Kelly (Clare – Ballyea), Ger Aylward (Kilkenny – Glenmore), Walter Walsh (Kilkenny – Tullogher/Rosbercon).

McGeeney set for sixth season in Kildare

GAA Fixtures for the week ahead

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: