This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 24 February, 2020

Michael 'Brick' Walsh set for his first Waterford start of the year against Clare

Derek McGrath has named a much-changed Deise team to face the Banner.

Image: James Crombie/INPHO

NOEL CONNORS, JAMIE Barron, Pauric O’Mahony and Maurice Shanahan are among the big names to drop out of the Waterford team for Sunday’s Allianz Hurling League Division 1A clash against Clare.

In comes veteran Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh for his first start of the year, while Ian O’Regan replaces Shane O’Keeffe between the posts.

Ian Kenny, Mark O’Brien, Stephen Bennett, DJ Foran and Patrick Curran have also been added to the starting 15, with Tom Devine, Colin Dunford and Philip Mahony heading in the other direction.

The Clare team was named last night.

Waterford (vs Clare)

1. Ian O’Regan (Mount Sion)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
17. Ian Kenny (Ballygunner)

5. Tadhg de Búrca (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
20. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart)

8. Mark O’Brien (Ferrybank)
9. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)

10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
25. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)
26. DJ Foran (Portlaw)

14. Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh (Stradbally)
15. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)
18. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)

Fitzgibbon Cup-winning trio return for Tipperary, while Kingston comes into Cork attack

David Moran returns to Kerry squad as Fitzmaurice makes 3 changes to face Dublin

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel