Limerick hand three U21 stars their senior debuts as Guiney returns for Wexford

Throw-in tonight in the Gaelic Grounds is 7pm.

Updated at 12.10pm 

JACK GUINEY WILL return to the starting Wexford team tonight against Limerick for the first time since being dropped from the county squad over a disciplinary issue before last summer’s Leinster semi-final with Kilkenny.

Jack Guiney 9/7/2014 Jack Guiney will start at full-forward on Sunday. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Guiney was recalled to the Wexford squad at the end of last year by manager Liam Dunne and is named to start at full-forward tomorrow night in the Gaelic Grounds.

Injuries rule Conor McDonald, Paul Morris, Diarmuid O’Keeffe and Shane Tomkins out of the Wexford setup.

Oulart-the-Ballagh trio Conor O’Leary, Shaun Murphy and Eoin Moore are all named on the bench as they rejoin the county squad in the wake of last weekend’s All-Ireland club loss to Na Piarsaigh.

Lee Chin is in action for Wexford tomorrow night Source: Paul Mohan/SPORTSFILE

Meanwhile, Limerick manager TJ Ryan has named his side for the Division 1B game with three of last year’s All Ireland U21 team handed their debuts.

Richie English, Diarmuid Byrnes and Barry Nash all start.


1. Mark Fanning (Glynn-Barntown)

2. Liam Ryan (Rapparees)
3. Matthew O’Hanlon (St James – captain)
4. James Breen (Adamstown)

5. Andrew Kenny (Buffers Alley)
6. Andrew Shore (Parnells – Dublin)
7. Paudie Foley (Crossabeg/Ballymurn)

8. Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers)
9. Harry Kehoe (Cloughbawn)

10. Liam Óg McGovern (St Annes)
11. Aidan Nolan (Half Way House/Bunclody)
12. Ian Byrne (Ferns St Aidan’s)

13. Cathal Dunbar (Ballygarrett)
14. Jack Guiney (Rathnure)
15. David Dunne (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy)

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member


16. Conor O’Leary (Oulart-the-Ballagh)
17. Eoin Conroy (Naomh Eanna)
18. Shaun Murphy (Oulart-the-Ballagh)
19. Eoin Moore (Oulart-the-Ballagh)
20. Jack O’Connor (St Martin’s)
21. Podge Doran (Oylegate/Glenbrien)
22. Joe O’Connor (St Martin’s)
23. Aaron Maddock (St Martin’s)


1. Nickie Quaid (Effin)

2. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
4. Richie English (Doon)

5. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
6. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
7. Seamus Hickey (Murroe Boher)

8. John Fitzgibbon (Adare)
9. Paul Browne (Bruff)

10. David Reidy (Dromin Athlacca)
11. Gavin O Mahony (Kilmallock)
12. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

13. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
14. Declan Hannon (Adare)
15. Barry Nash (South Liberties)

8 of Galway’s All-Ireland final team to start in league opener against Cork

8 top stars looking to bounce back during the Allianz Hurling League

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: